Elegant Orzo with Wilted Spinach and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Delicious! I over cooked the pine nuts but that was my own fault. And despite that I cook with spinach at least once a week, I always forget how much spinach cooks down once wilted/steamed/etc.... just a reminder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Love; will add more spinach next time because it really wilts down to a miniscule amt! Also added chicken at the end for my meat-loving husband :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is one of those no-fail recipes which holds up well to changes/substitutions. I sauteed a small onion and added more garlic. I don't care for cooked spinach, so I added raw spinach to the hot, cooked orzo and gave it a good stir to avoid clumping. Perfect! Sadly, no pine nuts on hand, so I added toasted walnuts instead. Next time, I'll add more tomato (sun-dried would be fabulous). Even though I enjoy balsamic, I didn't enjoy it in this dish, so I'll play around with other options in the future. I made this as a main dish for our weekly Meatless Monday dinner, however, it would make a wonderful side dish to chicken or fish. Simple, quick, and solid recipe which will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I wasn't at all disappointed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
No ingredient changes! Which is really saying something for me. I did use half the oil and half the orzo. The orzo was a little over-cooked at 8 minutes. But yum, and so QUICK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BBBEAN
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
So easy.. my daughter and I loved it.. but I was glad I heeded advice and cut the oil back.. Also.. I did not stop to think how much 1 lb of pasta would make.. so LOTS of leftovers.. Am going to try adding artichoke hearts and balsamic vinaigrette for a pasta salad,as suggested in another review.. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! I made enough to take to lunch for work but ended up eating it all! I didn't follow the recipe to the fullest, though. I left out the tomatoes and vinegar and instead of Feta I used Goat Cheese. The next time I make it (tonight :) ) I think i am going to use less EVO and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vass, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
So yummy! I followed the recipe exactly but threw in a handful of diced red onion at the end to keep them crunchy. I also used halved cherry tomatoes because it is what I had on hand. To keep the cost down, I think I will replace the very expensive pine nuts with slivered almonds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is one of the most delicious orzo recipes I've ever made/tasted! Like other people, I would suggest making 1/2 a box of orzo and definitely doubling the spinach! I also toss in 1 whole tomato chopped, instead of 1/2. I really like onions, so I sauté 1/2 a medium onion, chopped with the garlic, basil & crushed red pepper before browning the pine nuts. To make things more spicy, I add 1 tsp of crushed red pepper instead of the 1/2 tsp. Finally, I do without the cheese and it tastes just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is a simple dish that looks "elegant" and tastes amazing! I didn't use the pine nuts as they were too expensive and the dish was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States