Elegant Fig Appetizers with Goat Cheese and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
made tonight . loved them. used feta instead of goat, due to price at grocery store. Feta less expensive. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRIRENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This got rave reviews at the dinner party I took it to. I used sliced almonds instead of whole because I thought they would be a better fit texture wise. I was able to take them quite a ways to the party in a thermal bag with a heated brick and then pour on the balsamic/honey glaze when I got there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is simple and delicious. The only goat cheese I could find was sweetened - with honey. It all worked well together. I always sprout almonds before cooking with them - that is, I wash and soak them in water and a dash of sea salt the night before, then rinse before using. This makes the almonds creamier and tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I ate something similar to this at a party so I was glad I found this recipe...so simple yet so divine! I didn't use almonds. Another twist would be to wrap some proscuitta around the fig...I would probably put it in the oven for a bit verses under the broiler though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Fantastic.... used dried figs without a problem. Even my 13yo son who claims he doesn't like figs loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was very easy and a really great combination of flavors and textures. I had 8 rather than 12 figs, and didn't alter the amounts of honey or balsamic. I went heavy on the herbed chevre (probably more like a solid teaspoon+), and used cashews, because we are not huge almond fans. My husband wanted to know if there were any more when he finished his, high praise indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Heavenly. Our tree produces very big figs, so I needed more goat cheese. I had a Late Harvest Reisling Vinegar that I used in place of the Balsamic. So easy and just outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I signed up JUST so that I could rate this dish. I am so hooked on it. The overall taste is like nothing I've ever had before. If you have fresh figs this recipe is a must try. I thought the honey wasn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
So easy! The figs are in season right now so this recipe was a timely find. I took these to a party and everyone was raving! Salted almonds work best. They travel well, too! Now my favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Elegant, easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Strawberry Goat Cheese Bruschetta

A somewhat sweet, mostly savory, all delicious appetizer—or even dessert.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States