Elegant Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
have made several times; it is a little salty but it comes from the beef. the sour cream evens it out though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I did reduced fat in the dish, substituting the sour cream with yogurt, and leaving out bacon. It was still really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
It's very good. You don't need a whole pound of bacon--just one slice for each chicken breast. A whole pound would make it very greasy and salty. Also, I only use 8 oz of sour cream. I serve this with rice and peas. Yummy. Also, you can cook it at 250 for 3 hours if you want it to bake longer. A friend of mine gave me the same recipe that she called "Company Chicken." She would put it in the 250 oven Sunday morning before church and when company would come over after church, 3 hours later, it was ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Overall good flavor but a little bland. It is also not a very attractive dish to serve to guests. Like most cooks I love to experiment and changed it a bit. Exchanged Cream of Potato for Cream of Mushroom (husb hates 'shroons). Added dried minced onion, 1 T of Worch., 2 T Mayo, 2 T Mustard - instead of wrapping chicken I poured on sauce and sprinkled real bacon bits on top of that and then sprinkled French's crispy onions on top of that. It looked much less "pasty" and the flavor was great. If salt is an issue for you (it wasn't for us) make sure to rinse the dried beef and pat dry before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I found this recipe in an old cookbook from the '80's and it is almost identical. It is pretty easy to put togeher and very tasty (i like salty foods). My recipe calls for 4 oz of chipped beef and it cooks for 3 hours at 275. I also prefer to cut the chipped beef into small pieces rather than put the entire slice on the bottom of the casarole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Pretty good! The first time was excellent. The second time I screwed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Ratayczak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
It was a pretty big hit with most of the family. The only substitution I made was to make the cream soup from scratch, minus the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I make a dish like this, but it is called "Company Chicken". We save it for special occasions. For those who have written the dish is too salty, try using less bacon and dried chip beef and low sodium soup. I gave this recipe to my girlfriend and she too uses it for special occasions. Both of us receive wonderful compliments from our guests when we serve it. I do believe this recipe calls for too much bacon. I use one half a slice to wrap around each medium chicken breast. The bacon is cooked; it's just not brown and crispy. I serve this with baked potatoes or boiled rice and broccoli spears and tomato aspic or fresh sliced heirloom garden tomatoes. This recipe always turns out perfect. Putting the the chicken in the oven early, frees up time to do other baking or last minute activities before company comes. Using a whisk to slightly blend the separated soup and sour cream and diisolve the "clots" would take care of those problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
the soup and the sour cream separated and it was too watery making the sauce unusable. Next time we floured the chicken and quickly browned it before wrapping in the bacon and adding the other indredients - much fuller flavour and consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe was extremely easy to prepare. Unfortunately, the look and taste were highly unattractive. The sauce was a clotted mess and the grease from the bacon and chicken made it even worse. The chicken may have been moist, but the bacon looked undercooked. There was nothing at all elegant about this dish - just unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States