Elderberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
We have tons of elderberries in the area. I have made this pie several times with a few changes/additions. I use 3 1/2 cups of berries. Then I add 1/4 tsp salt, 2 TBS cornstarch or tapioca (works great), and 1 TBS butter. I mix everything together, place in pie and bake at 400 degrees for 40 - 45 mins. This is so good. If you have a sweet tooth add more sugar. Berries are easy to clean. The trick is to place them in the freezer first. Leave them in a plastic or paper sack for at least an hour or more, then cleaning is a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I was pleased with the way this pie turned out. It was crunchy as someone said which was a bit surprising since the fruit off the tree is so fragile. This is a crunch similar to the seeds of a blackberry. I'll make again. It was good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was the first elderberry pie that I have baked. I made it for a very good friend a couple of weeks ago. He picked the elderberries from his home and He LOVED it! I made the recipe just as Esther suggested. I have the 2nd pie in the oven as I type and will definately make it again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesh97

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chesley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This too is my favorite fruit recipe and I am blessed to have a very abundant berry producing bush/tree. I personally have found that using the tapioca sets up the filling a better for me so the pie isn't too runny. Thank you for adding this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lakeeriebeachglass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Thank you so much for this recipe. I Love elderberries and have always wanted a recipe for a pie. Love it.It may take a little work getting the berries ready but I make jelly and you have to do the same thing so this is no problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
really yummy. did alittle motifing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie reneer
Home Town: Van Buren, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Thanks so much for the recipe.......exactly as my grandmother made me 40 years ago now i can make it for my family!! THEY LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Great pie! I love elderberries and found that the easiest way to clean/ de-stem the berries is to freeze them first. Then they practically fall off the stems. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I made this pie using what I was told was Elderberries, but, were actually Mulberries. I didn't know what I had. Anyway, I removed all the stems by cutting with scissors , put the berry mixture with a little extra cornstarch in the pan and brought it all to a boil until thickened. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. The pie wasn't overly sweet and I liked it very much. Even my husband who isn't much of a sweet eater liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Oh My-Took forever to clean the tiny tiny berries. Cooked them and it looked fine. I don't know what goes on in the baking process but when I was done it was crunchy-not good. NOT a do-over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States