Elderberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I was pleased with the way this pie turned out. It was crunchy as someone said which was a bit surprising since the fruit off the tree is so fragile. This is a crunch similar to the seeds of a blackberry. I'll make again. It was good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was the first elderberry pie that I have baked. I made it for a very good friend a couple of weeks ago. He picked the elderberries from his home and He LOVED it! I made the recipe just as Esther suggested. I have the 2nd pie in the oven as I type and will definately make it again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesh97

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chesley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This too is my favorite fruit recipe and I am blessed to have a very abundant berry producing bush/tree. I personally have found that using the tapioca sets up the filling a better for me so the pie isn't too runny. Thank you for adding this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lakeeriebeachglass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Thank you so much for this recipe. I Love elderberries and have always wanted a recipe for a pie. Love it.It may take a little work getting the berries ready but I make jelly and you have to do the same thing so this is no problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
really yummy. did alittle motifing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie reneer
Home Town: Van Buren, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Thanks so much for the recipe.......exactly as my grandmother made me 40 years ago now i can make it for my family!! THEY LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Great pie! I love elderberries and found that the easiest way to clean/ de-stem the berries is to freeze them first. Then they practically fall off the stems. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I made this pie using what I was told was Elderberries, but, were actually Mulberries. I didn't know what I had. Anyway, I removed all the stems by cutting with scissors , put the berry mixture with a little extra cornstarch in the pan and brought it all to a boil until thickened. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. The pie wasn't overly sweet and I liked it very much. Even my husband who isn't much of a sweet eater liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Oh My-Took forever to clean the tiny tiny berries. Cooked them and it looked fine. I don't know what goes on in the baking process but when I was done it was crunchy-not good. NOT a do-over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was my first elderberry pie - we picked the berries from bushes we had planted in our backyard a few years ago. I love that this recipe has you thicken the filling before putting it in the crust because I don't like runny fruit pies. This method lets you control the thickness better. I used a full top instead of a lattice, and my son agrees that the pie tastes better on Day #2. Elderberry certainly has a unique flavor - it wasn't quite as "crunchy" (from the seeds, I imagine, because we picked these over twice to remove as many stems as possible before washing) on Day #2. I'm going to try some jam and syrup, too. We picked about 15 lbs. of berries and the bushes look like we barely touched them! Note to anyone from Western NY or Southern Ontario: we bought the bushes as bare root plants from the Erie County Conservation Tree and Shrub Seedling Program that the county runs every Spring. We bought 6 bare roots - about 12" tall at the time - and after two years the plants were VERY bushy and about 10' tall. They cost next to nothing - it's a great program to check out as they offer LOTS of other trees and plants, too. These elderberry bushes attract birds, butterflies, bees, etc. - this is the first year I got to the berries before the birds! There are lots of berries to share, though!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walker23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States