Elbows with Cauliflower and Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was so good...and versatile. Also good as leftovers! I substituted mushrooms for cauliflower - delicious! I didn't know what deglazing meant and googled it after it was too late. I just threw the wine in with the vegetables instead of taking the vegetables out like you are supposed to when deglazing. It was still good. Also, I remembered I was supposed to save a cup of the pasta water as I was watching it all disappear down the drain! I ended up not adding any liquid and it was just fine. Also, since the carrots were not in the instructions, I forgot to add those. You probably just add them in with the other veggies though, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Super yummy and simple! Reheats really well. I left out the cauliflower and added in more sprouts and carrots I also left out the butter and used a bit more oil, and it's still quite flavorful. I've made this deglazing with wine, but I also made it one night with beer and it was delicious! Just a little different flavor. Last addition that I sometimes throw in if I've got it is a little Kielbasa sausage...I think it goes well with the other flavors rather than using chicken or beef. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Such a great way to use some of my favorite vegetables! I could not stop eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I brown a couple of cloves of crushed garlic with the onion. As a final step I top with bread crumbs browned in olive oil. It adds a bit of extra crunch and an extra layer of depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I sauteed 1 lb ground turkey & garlic, 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes and added it to this recipe. No elbow pasta, so I used Penne other than those changes I followed the the recipe as written. Great flavor and we loved the textures. I'm going to try it with rice g/f pasta this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodwiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe is Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I used half a box of whole what elbow mac, and it was plenty for my taste. Also, I added one more carrot. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindajoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe is delicious. Followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe except I used only half the amount of pasta, but it was plenty in proportion to the amount of other ingredients. I added 2 cloves minced garlic. But it was very bland. Amount of salt & pepper is not given in the recipe. I added 1 tsp to boiling water before cooking the pasta, I added 1/2 tsp each salt & pepper to the finished dish. Needs more seasoning. Perhaps crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Easy, but very, very bland. We hit it with some garlic salt at the table, which helped a little, but overall this was just really boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Veggie Elbows Mac and Cheese

An easy veggie pasta tossed with okra and a creamy, three-cheese sauce.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States