Elbows and Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This is a basic macaroni and ground beef dish. I made some changes to the recipe. I seasoned the ground beef with salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste. I sauteed the onions and green pepper together. I only had 3-8oz cans of tomato sauce so I placed approximately one half can of diced tomatoes with green chilies in with the tomato sauce. I simmered this for a few minutes and then added the cooked macaroni. I didn't use the entire box of macaroni because I thought it would be too dry with the amount of sauce that I had. The addition of the canned tomatoes with green chilies gave it a fresher taste and added a little bite to it.A sprinkling of parmesean cheese on top and it is good to go. I served it with a Caesar salad and garlic bread. This made a very nice weekday dinner.I will definitely make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This is a very quick and delicious recipe to throw together when time is tight. I did saute 3 large garlic cloves along with the onion. I also added fresh ground pepper to the recipe. Since I was out of green pepper, I used red pepper and celery in its place. It turned out great. I also used less tomato sauce. Some family members sprinkled it with parmesan or cheddar cheese. This recipe was a hit with my family. It is not gourmet, but a nice basic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Good. Our family all agreed that we like this dish much better when a jar spagetti sauce is added instead of the tomato sauce. It just seems to add a little more punch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMMHOCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I browned my meat with the an onion, a green pepper, minced garlic, salt & pepper then after draining I added two 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce one can stewed tomatoes and a jar of my grandma's stewed tomatoes (because that all I had on hand) I then added a 16 oz box of rotini and brought it all to a boil, then simmered it until the pasta was tender. I added colby jack on top to melt and my family liked it alot. Next time I will use the 2 cans tomato sauce and 3 cans of stewed tomatoes. Hope this helps. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
EXCELLENT! Very quick and easy! Big Hit with my family! I sprinkled garlic powder over and stirred in, GREAT..A SURE KEEPER! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Family loved it! Used 1 can of tomatoes, 1 jar of chunky salsa that I ran through the food processor and 2 lbs. ground beef. Served with cheddar cheese. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Quick, easy. The whole family loved it. My initial thought was that there would be way too much tomato sauce but I was wrong. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I added a tbsp of chicken seasoning to the beek and a tsp of salt and it added flavor. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yg07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I liked this quite well, it was also good reheated. When I reheated it I added shredded cheese and it was better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Read thru 43 reviews before making this dish. So many wonderful ideas. Used what I had on hand - 3 cloves garlic (minced), 7 oz tomato sauce, 2 carrots (diced), 1/2 cup macaroni, 1 small potato (diced), 1/2 cup chicken broth to 1/2 lb ground beef. Salt, pepper to taste. Served over steamed wihite rice. Fantastic comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JozieLee

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Ground Beef

See how to beef up a meal with versatile ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States