Elbow Macaroni and Kidney Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I've made this for years for my Saturday housework fuel! So awesome to find your recipe which is so much like mine! Mine is typically bowtie pasta - though today I used macaroni like yours - and my vinegar is champagne vinegar. Onions are Vidalia - not as strong. In summer I throw a little fresh basil on top. I sought a recipe this morning, wondering how others do their pasta & kidney bean treat - and here was confirmation that we're on the right track! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This is wonderful. I'm sitting at my table eating this right now for my lunch. I used green onions instead of regular for a milder flavor. Followed the rest of the recipe, tasted and it was good. Then I decided to add more veggies: peas & carrots, more parsley, red bell pepper. Think of this as a Bean & Veggie Salad with some pasta in it. I have been trying to add more veggies into my diet and this is very helpful. Thank you for sharing Jennifer. Update: I made this again, this time using whole wheat macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
good but all I tasted was onion:( I will make it again but ommit or use way less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I, too, used a little more pasta -- one pound worked for me -- and used regular mayo (that's all I had on hand). We found that it needed a ton of salt, especially after sitting in the fridge. This makes a ton of salad! A great potluck dish. Thanks, Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Made this for today's lunch, but I did modify the recipe a bit. First... I used 2 cups of elbow macaroni, as I thought the 1-cup wasn't enough. The salad would of consisted of too many beans and not enough macaroni. I also used 1 cup of regular (not light) Hellmann's Mayonnaise, (to give the salad a creamier texture) plus I added 1-1/2 teaspoons Dijon mustard, 1/4 tsp plus 1/8 tsp each... of salt and pepper. I only added 2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar, as I didn't want the dressing to be too runny. Also... I only added 3 tablespoons of sliced spring (green) onions. I was able to chill the salad for 3 hrs and 15 minutes before serving it. At the table I did lightly sprinkle my serving with a bit more salt and pepper. With the modifications I made, I'm going to rate this salad with 4 stars. This salad is good, but it definitely needs more macaroni, mayo, and Dijon mustard, and especially if there are any leftovers to be served the next day. Thank-you Jennifer for sharing this recipe. Also... lutzflcat, I'd like to give you credit for the really great photo you took of the salad. You made it look sooo delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Made as described, but doubled for dinner. I'm always looking for a meatless meal for one night a week. This fits perfectly. May add other ingredients next time, but this will go in the monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is a simple pasta salad that's oh so yummy! I doubled it for a family dinner, and it was a huge hit. Only changes I made was adding a half tsp. yellow mustard to the dressing, plus I added fresh cut corn from the cob, 1/2 diced green bell pepper, and 1 minced fresh jalapeno. I'll definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Made the recipe exactly as written except for adding a little bit of chopped red bell pepper for color. I thought the red wine vinegar in the dressing would brighten up the mayo dressing, but tasting it after it chilled, I thought it was a little bland. I then added a little bit of dijon mustard which I think really improved this salad. This is easy, and I will make again, but it will be with the addition of the dijon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States