Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wow - now this is fabulous BBQ Beef! It's definitely sweet and tangy so prepare your tastebuds. I had my eye on this recipe for a while and made it for my Halloween party (just finally got around to reviewing it). Needless to say it was a BIG hit! I cut the recipe in half cutting back on the ketchup and used 1/2 cup ketchup with 1/2 cup of BBQ sauce. This is best prepared the night before due to the long cook time. Plus it's even better in the slow cooker the next day! I served this on mini kaiser rolls (sliders) along with kettle cooked chips and mini dill pickles - this may become a new Halloween tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a family favorite! Great for parties...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this for school lunch. Mrs. Trewarn gave us a 10# chuck roast, so I used it for this. It was very good, you just need to cook it forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I used a *4lb. pork roast which I cooked in crockpot with 1/2 c. water & a pkg. of Lipton Onion Soup Mix. I cooked until very tender and then removed from bone and removed fat. The next day I mixed ingredients except that I used half BBQ sauce/half ketchup and I cooked on low for 3-4 hours. Family really liked, very flavorful.*Halved ingredients since I used a smaller roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
sorry did not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Excellant. The hours it takes to cook is reflected in the taste. Try not to be impatient. The end result is wonderful. You can alter the sweet, the vinegar and the heat without spoiling the taste. Would unconditionally recommend this to everyone. Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was great. Used this recipe for left over roast beef. It wasn't really spicy enough so next time I will up the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Freaking delicious. I added a little variety by simmering the roast in beef broth, sliced onion and black pepper. I also added powdered chipotle pepper to the sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
My husband doesn't like any type of loose beef, but our daughter and myself absolutely love it! It took 7 pounds of questionable quality meat and turned it into a feast for days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I made this recipe for friends and family recently... everyone raved about it... and several stated it was the best beef barbecue they had ever eaten. Usually folks here make it with ground beef... so this one stood out from others... I will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you, Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States