Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
As a Californian, I had to use Tri Tip. Came out excellent, I browned the meat first, used the Kicker's Mesquite Ketchup for 1/2 of the amount of Ketchup and used the full amount of garlic. Needed to cook on high for about 4 hours before adding the sauce, and them simmered on low for 3 hours more. All of my Southern friends loved the sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
I made this for my son's first birthday party since most of the guests were adults and it was a HIT! Even the kids loved it! I have been asked by my mother in law to make it several times since- which is a HUGE compliment! I am making it today for my brother in law's 30th birthday party and have scaled it up to 60 people. I've roasted 30 pounds of beef and am making it in a large roaster-it's turning out great! Whenever I make it I hold back on the garlic, though- I only use a third of what it calls for because it is REALLY garlic-y if you mince it yourself! Try this out! The ease and convenience of day before prep only make it better in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
very easy to make and everyone loved how tangy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn M. Oashgar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This is the best flavored home made barbeque recipe that I have ever tasted. Ev ery family member agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I have tried many, many different recipes. Just like you I usually combine several recipes into one, but I have never found one as tasteful as yours. It is perfect in every aspect. The entire family truly enjoyed this one. From now on, this is the only recipe I will use for our BBQ. Thanks again for sharing such a wonderful BBQ. VERY YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
I have made this numerous times for family and company. Love it!! Our children enjoy it, too which is a rare occurence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
My grandmother has made Beef BBQ this way for over 50 years, she uses bottom round so you can eliminate the fat picking step. She also cooks it on top the stove covered on very low heat, stirring once in awhile, until most of the liquid is gone ( about 3 -4 hours ) and the meat has shreaded by the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADOWS1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This is a great recipe! I halved this recipe, and it turned out wonderfully! This is definitely one of the best BBQ recipes I have come across. We have some great BBQ in the South; this recipe definitely measures up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
GREAT RECIPE!! The time to cook the meat was way off though. I actually had to cook it over night. Then it was ready to shred. I added a couple of ingredients to mine as well: 6 oz chili sauce, 1tsp. garlic powder, and 1/4 cup of orange juice. It was soooo good. I have given it to several people and they can't compare it to any other one. Thank you Elaine for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This is an outstanding and simple recipe that can be used for beef or pork. Using the slow cooker allows you to start it one day, cook thru the night, shred and mix with seasoning and be ready the next day. Great for weekend activities. Try using pork and add one cup mustard, one cup vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States