Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This is really good. I'm giving it 4 stars because I think the cook time is way off. I used only a 2.75 lb. roast, and after 5 hours it was JUST getting to the point of being able to easily shred. The taste though is divine! I halved the recipe (since I was using a smaller roast), added a packet of Onion Soup Mix (per others reviews, thought this was a good addition) and added a quartered whole onion while it cooked. After the meat was done, I took out the 1/2 cup of broth, and then put the rest in a saucepot. I then added to the broth pot all the ingredients and brought to a slow boil for a couple of minutes, then added everything (meat and sauce) back to the crockpot for another 4 hours on low. Because I was running low on ketchup, and based on the reviews, I only used 1/4 cup ketchup and 1 1/4 cups Hickory Smoke Kraft BBQ sauce (for full recipe, I'd use 1/2 cup ketchup and 2 1/2 cups BBQ Sauce). I did not use the additional salt because of the soup mix, and I used maybe 6 shakes (12 for full recipe) of Tabasco in place of the cayenne. This recipe tastes authentic and it's addictive! Served with cornbread. (Sorry, I think this is the longest review ever!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
My grandmother has made Beef BBQ this way for over 50 years, she uses bottom round so you can eliminate the fat picking step. She also cooks it on top the stove covered on very low heat, stirring once in awhile, until most of the liquid is gone ( about 3 -4 hours ) and the meat has shreaded by the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADOWS1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
After reading the review that noted the strong ketchup taste, I decided to use a new ketchup product from Heinz - Ketchup Kick'rs, smokey mesquite flavor to replace the ketchup. I also scaled the recipe to 8 servings because I happened to have a 2 lb chuck roast on hand. I cooked the meat the afternoon/evening before. Shredded and assembled the recipe before bed and put it and the broth in the fridge overnight. At two the next afternoon, I continued with the recipe. I did have to use most of the broth (the good thing was by chilling it, I was able to remove all the fat). I served it with jalapeno slices, sliced onions that were broiled slightly to take the bite out and coleslaw as optional toppings on toasted (broiled) french bread. My husband had been dreading this roast, yet absolutely loved this recipe - even had a second sandwich. I would have given 5 stars, but because I think it was the Mesquite ketchup that made it so good only gave it 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I scaled the recipe down to 10 servings, just threw everything in the crockpot on low and cooked overnight. In the morning, I just fished out the excess fat. So easy! I added a bit more brown sugar than called for. Didn't smell too great cooking (very vinegary), but tasted WONDERFUL! Will surely make again and again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
None Better! I start it three days before I want to serve it. cook on day one, shred and de-fat day two. Cook again and serve on day 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This is an outstanding and simple recipe that can be used for beef or pork. Using the slow cooker allows you to start it one day, cook thru the night, shred and mix with seasoning and be ready the next day. Great for weekend activities. Try using pork and add one cup mustard, one cup vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
As a Californian, I had to use Tri Tip. Came out excellent, I browned the meat first, used the Kicker's Mesquite Ketchup for 1/2 of the amount of Ketchup and used the full amount of garlic. Needed to cook on high for about 4 hours before adding the sauce, and them simmered on low for 3 hours more. All of my Southern friends loved the sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I had to cook the meat about 4 hours on high to get it to shredding consistency, but that was minor since I already planned to cook it all day. I did find the ketchup taste too strong and added more sugar and vinegar to even it out. I also didn't have any cheyanne so I used hot sauce to give it kick. My husband really like and since I love crock pot recipes I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Had a chuck roast (3.5 lbs) thawed, so I threw it in the crockpot this AM covered with beef broth. Have definitely never heard of 7 lbs. of any cut of roast shredding after 2-4 hours in a crockpot on low (!!!), so I just planned on the standard 7-8 hours. Was fork tender/shredded easily at that point, so I drained some of the liquid out and made the sauce in a *separate* pan - those of you who don't like the taste, this is a good sauce base, but get creative and tweak it to your own preferences. More vinegar, add some other spices, more worcestershire, spice it up with crushed red pepper, honey vs. brown sugar, etc. (which is a good reason to make the sauce in a separate pan!). You really can't mess this up! After the sauce was done, I added it to the beef and cooked on low for another hour and it was perfect! Served on bakery-fresh toasted buns with homemade garlic cole slaw on the sandwiches (cole slaw on top of the bbq and under the top bun is essential in the south!) and thick cut oven fries. EXCELLENT and the kids tore it up! Regarding the sauce, for us it's kicked up with crushed red pepper, yellow mustard vs. dried, apple cider vinegar vs. white, a little juice from a jar of pepperocini peppers, and lots of McCormick Smokehouse ground black pepper. Just follow the base, and if it's not quite "there" for you, keep adding and tasting until you love it, THEN toss with the beef & it's the perfect (indoor anyway!) BBQ beef for sandwiches. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I tried to make this recipes today by following the directions EXACTLY as written, but the meat was so tough I couldn't shred the beef. I would not recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States