Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
love it! I am making maid rites and these sandwiches this weekend for my toddler's bday party! Cant wait to eat them on Sunday!! I don't know if the time is right or not cuz I always cook in my slow cooker for longer, I usually cook it for like 5-6 hours before shredding and then at least 2 hours or more after cooked thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Excellent sandwich, I followed the directions exactly. loved how moist and flavorful it was. Thanks for the recipe its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mkaty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I 1/2 the recipe and added 1/2 packet of onion soup mix as others suggested also added a splash of liquid smoke flavoring and took it to work and got rave reviews. Two people asked for the recipe. I really liked the sweet with the tangy flavor. By the way most people ate it without the rolls or slaw. Thanks Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is a wonderful barbecued beef recipe! The title is exactly right; this meat is both sweet and tangy! It is really hot here, so I actually cooked it in the slow cooker outside on our front porch, so that we wouldn't heat up the house. Thanks so much for sharing this delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is a great recipe. I found you do have to cook the meat in the water a lot longer then this recipe calls for. I added a few drops of liquid smoke. The second time I made this I was also low on ketchup and substituted the remaining amount with BBQ. It worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serenity O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This recipe was awesome! I am not a big BBQ fan, but really liked the blend of flavors. I had thawed a 4lb Pikes Peak (similar to Rump Roast--very lean) roast to make jerky, but didn't have time to do so and needed to use it up. I cut the roast into chunks, threw all the ingredients into the crockpot, turned to high and went to work. When I came home, I shredded the meat and thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch/water slurry. Served on homemade Country Seed Bread from this site----yum! My men loved it. Here are the adjustments I made: 1.Was out of dry mustard, so used a squirt of yellow french's mustard. 2.Added a package of onion soup mix for extra flavor and texture. 3.Added one cup ketchup, 2 cups of a bottled sweet BBQ sauce, because I was low on ketchup. Thank you for such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly (1/2 though since I used a smaller roast) and this was the best sauce I've ever had! I cooked 5lb. sirloin roast on high 4 hours then cut it into large pieces and added the sauce. It cooked another 4 hours and I sliced it very thin (too lean to shred) added it back to the sauce, stirred it really well and continued 1 more hour on high. Very, very good - my meat loving family was extremely happy last night and the house smelled great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanna Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Unfortunetly I have to say this recipe, as written was not good. It tasted like sweet ketchup. Nothing tangy about it. Just meat and ketchup. I ended up maybe tripling the amount of vinegar, spices and worchestire sauce as well as adding 3 tablespoons of Tabasco. With those additions it was actually quite good but very far from the actual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
A much faster way to cook the beef is using a pressure cooker...I love mine. I cut the recipe in half due to my 3 lb roast. I cooked the roast with the spices and the 1 c. of water on steady "rock" for approximately 1 hour. I could shred the beef easily with a fork. I drained all but 3 tbls of the juice left in the pot, and then added the rest of the ingredients with only 1/2 c. ketchup, and 1/4 of Sweet Baby Rays. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States