Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I thought this recipe was good, but like many others, I too had to cook this much longer before I could shred the meat-about 5 hours. Also, I cut back on the amount of ketchup and added a little more brown sugar as many suggested. It ended up tasting a lot like my mom's recipe. I'm sure I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
We thought this had a lot of flavor! Used up some chuck steak and stew meat, about 6 lbs total. Perfect amount of sauce, did not have to add the reserved broth. It is what is says, sweet and tangy. All of us really liked it! Put this on "Angie's perfect dinner rolls" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
YUM!!! This is so delicious. I often buy roasts because they are on sale, but I get stuck making them the same way all the time. This is such a good recipe. I scaled the recipe down to 10 servings, but after removing all the fat, there was only enough meat left to make about 6 good sandwiches. This is a perfect recipe for a laid back dinner with friends and beer. So good. This will go into my collection for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Had a chuck roast (3.5 lbs) thawed, so I threw it in the crockpot this AM covered with beef broth. Have definitely never heard of 7 lbs. of any cut of roast shredding after 2-4 hours in a crockpot on low (!!!), so I just planned on the standard 7-8 hours. Was fork tender/shredded easily at that point, so I drained some of the liquid out and made the sauce in a *separate* pan - those of you who don't like the taste, this is a good sauce base, but get creative and tweak it to your own preferences. More vinegar, add some other spices, more worcestershire, spice it up with crushed red pepper, honey vs. brown sugar, etc. (which is a good reason to make the sauce in a separate pan!). You really can't mess this up! After the sauce was done, I added it to the beef and cooked on low for another hour and it was perfect! Served on bakery-fresh toasted buns with homemade garlic cole slaw on the sandwiches (cole slaw on top of the bbq and under the top bun is essential in the south!) and thick cut oven fries. EXCELLENT and the kids tore it up! Regarding the sauce, for us it's kicked up with crushed red pepper, yellow mustard vs. dried, apple cider vinegar vs. white, a little juice from a jar of pepperocini peppers, and lots of McCormick Smokehouse ground black pepper. Just follow the base, and if it's not quite "there" for you, keep adding and tasting until you love it, THEN toss with the beef & it's the perfect (indoor anyway!) BBQ beef for sandwiches. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
For any of theses recipes, if you take the juice generated from the slow cooking, put in the refrigerator, and then skim off the fat easily after it has hardened on the top, you will have a much healthier meal with a lot less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
So delicious!! I used a 3 12/ lb boneless chuck roast....and halved all the ingredients for the BBQ sauce. I also used 1/2c. beef broth instead of the 1c. water. Added a tsp. of liquid smoke too! Very flavorful and tender....will make again Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I put a 3 pound roast in the slow cooker at about 8am on HIGH with a finely chopped 1/2 onion and water. At 11am I went to shred the beef but it was still too firm. I cut the beef roughly with a knife so that the sauce would penetrate and added the sauce (recalculated for 12 servings for a 3 lb roast beef). The only adjustments that I made to the sauce was that I added 1 tbsp of Clubhouse leGrille Mesquite Rubbing Marinade for that mesquite flavour (a good idea from other reviewers), and I did not add any salt. After another 5 hours in the slow cooker on LOW, I thought that there was just too much juice even though I had removed the 1/2 cup as recommended. My sauce was just too wet. So I drained MOST of the juices out, cooked up another 1/2 sauce recipe (based on a 6 serving size) on the stove, and added it hot to the slow cooker shredded beef for another half hour of cooking. Wow, was this ever awesome cooked like this!! So next time, I'll make sauce based on 18 servings (for a 3 lb roast beef), use about half of the sauce as recommended in the recipe... then, a half hour before serving, drain off the excess liquids, and add the remaining sauce into the shredded beef. I thought it was absolutely exquisite!! My two girls, 2 and 5, loved the beef which rarely happens, and so did my husband!! I would definately serve this to guests prepared this way. This time I served it over rice, I'm serving the leftovers over fresh baked buns on Tuesday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe must require the use of a "super" crockpot, because I have never been able to easily shred a roast after 4 hours. I seasoned my roast & browned on both sides before adding to crockpot. Also added beef broth instead of water & put all of the ingredients in from the start, since I had to go to work. When I came home, I shredded the beef & let cook some more until my husband came home. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
love it! I am making maid rites and these sandwiches this weekend for my toddler's bday party! Cant wait to eat them on Sunday!! I don't know if the time is right or not cuz I always cook in my slow cooker for longer, I usually cook it for like 5-6 hours before shredding and then at least 2 hours or more after cooked thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States