Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
So good and so easy. I have had requests for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Based on other reviews I switched out 1/2 of the ketchup for bbq sauce and accidently put in a bit more garlic than called for and this turned out delicious. I'm going to try it with pork next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was pretty good and easy. I only used 1 lb of beef and cut the other ingredients down accordingly. It has a unique flavor and it was a nice change from standard bbq beef but my husband didn't really care for it and while the kids seemed to like it I don't think that it's something they would request so I'm not sure that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Took much longer to cook to get to the shredding point, but I figured it would, and it doesn't need to be cooked as long after you add everything. I cooked the roast until it was ready to pull apart and then stuck the crockpot in the fridge over night. The next day I removed all the fat that had hardend and turned the crockpot back on,shredded the beef, added the ingrediants and cooked the rest of the way. It was very tasty. You don't have to be precise on the measurments, just add what you like to get the desired taste. I will add lots more spice to it when we are ready to eat it after taking some out for the kids and those that don't like it hot. I like to use chili paste. Didn't use as much ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
It was delicious to me. Took forever to shred..about 5 hrs. but so so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Better than if you just cook roast, shred, and top with bottled bbq sauce. Basic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I am the world's laziest cook so I just threw all ingredients into the slow cooker and hoped for the best. After 8 hours on low my meat wasn't shredding easily so just sliced it super thin. Threw it back into the pot and added a bit of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Great basic recipe -- some of my family added more spices, some liked it as is; some ate it on a bun, some preferred it with potatoes. An all-round crowd pleaser. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I use the roast, put all ingredients in together and cook in slow (250 deg.) oven. Takes less time. Very yasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Turned out ok for me. Not my favorite BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I've made this for years after I learned it from my mother. I've cooked it several different ways, slow cooker, stovetop and even pressure cooker which can be done in 45 minutes. The only difference is I add a couple tablespoons of liquid smoke and cut the roast into 1-2 inch cubes. Served with mashed potatoes with the bbq sauce as gravy. MMMMMM making a slow cooker full tomorrow for Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladrennon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States