Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
My husband and son really liked this - it did have a unique taste. I used a 2lb bottom round roast - there was very little fat waste. Also cooked for about 4 hours on high and the meat was shreddable - then I followed the recipe from there on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Only problem was I scaled down the recipe and it disappeared too fast. Really great alone in a sandwich or with pickles, tomato, and/or lettuce as well. Used the sauce to make sloppy joes as well- was very good that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I was looking for a delicious summer salad to serve as a side dish and am so happy to have found this recipe. It complimented our BBQ chicken perfectly, and a few guests even went back for seconds ... of the salad! I highly recommend this salad. Note: the dressing recipe is huge; I used less than 1/2 of it to dress the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Love this recipe! Also, I tried it with boneless, skinless chicken thighs. It was a big hit with my family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieC
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made this ahead of time for a dinner at the cottage. Cooked the meat, cut it up and poured the sauce over and froze it. I heated it on the bbq. I used more of the beef juice than called for, added a sliced onion and substituted 1 1/2 cups chipotle bbq sauce for the same amout of ketchup. It was fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Loved it! Only change was to add onion soup powder to the water. Took between 5-6 hrs on low for this to be tender enough to shred. Served on large sesame hamburg buns. Very, very nice! Only problem - son, girlfriend not crazy about shredded beef on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was fantastic. I never saw this smokey ketchup other reviewers were talking about, but I just added a bunch of shakes of liquid smoke myself. My only reasons for downgrading this are for one, the servings are way off. I changed it to 7 as I had a much smaller roast (pork roast, in my case). I probably only made about 3 or 4 meals for myself out of it? Secondly, as I'm not a ketchup fan in the first place, I took the advice of others and downgraded the ketchup. (My resized recipe called for 3/4 cup. I only used 1/2 cup; it was still very moist so no worrying about that.) I made everything else as-is except perhaps adding a little more cayenne per my tastes. As with others, I also made this a two-day affair, cooking the first time for 6 or so hours as it was impossible to shred previous to this as others have noted. The fat was easier to remove when cold from the fridge the next day. It was wonderful; I was standing up eating it out of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very good - enjoyed by adults and toddlers alike. Reduced ketchup to 1 cup. Mixed leftovers with enchilada sauce, carrots, potatoes, peppers and onions and wrapped in tortillas - sprinkled with cheese and broiled for a few minutes. Very tasty both ways! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Tasted great. Took longer than expected for the beef to become cooked enough to pull apart. I would suggest cooking it all night, then pulling it in the AM, then add your ingredients to simmer all day. Very tasty and easy. Would be excellent for a crowd. Served on toasted buns - my husband ended up having 3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States