Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Very tasty, everyone loved it. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Browned one pound of hamburger and use this BBQ sauce minus 2 cups of ketchup. Will make again. Believe would be good with any kind of beef or port.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Cut recipe down to 7 servings with no other changes except cooking the meat longer. Best BBQ my husband and I have had in years! It is so good I keep trying to think of someone with whom I can share the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
One can of cola rather than water helps to tenderize the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Tried this over the weekend with a 3 pound elk roast. My family loved it! I sprinkled the roast with a package of Lipton onion soup mix and it took longer than the recipe says for it to cook enough to be shredded. Didn't put all the ketchup in and used red wine vinegar instead of the white. So easy to make. Will definitely do this one again for all types of meat. Thanks Elaine where ever you are. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Very good! Used approximately 2 1/2 cups of BBQ sauce (bullseye original, our favorite-no corn syrup) and 1 6 oz.can of tomato paste. No ketchup or brown sugar. Cooked in crock all night with 1 1/2 c. Water and 1pkg of onion soup mix. Other ingredients the same except no salt or cayenne. Shredded meat in the morning and added sauce. Cooked 3 hours on low then kept warm til serving time.YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Elaines Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ is so good! It was really easy to make too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was really yummy, although I didn't taste anything that just wowed my socks off compared to other bbqs I've made. I used part ketchup and part bbq sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's), and found that I still wanted to up some of the other ingredients - particularly the vinegar. I ended up adding a fairly liberal squirt or two (or 5) of prepared mustard also, and that brought the "tangy" more up to our tastes. All in all, pretty yummy, I will definitely go to this recipe when I'm making bbq. Cook times are way off, as most people seem to know already. I needed to cook my meat a good 6-8 hours before it was shred-able. Definitely a 2 day process unless you get an early start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Wonderful flavors and very easy. I also really liked the method of preparation. I will do this every time with roasts in the crock pot. It comes out very juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Great crock pot recipe. Yes, the cooking time is off (it took about twice as long, on high heat), but the taste is good. I used tomato sauce instead of ketchup. My roast was small, so I halved the recipe with good results. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States