Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this for school lunch. Mrs. Trewarn gave us a 10# chuck roast, so I used it for this. It was very good, you just need to cook it forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I used a *4lb. pork roast which I cooked in crockpot with 1/2 c. water & a pkg. of Lipton Onion Soup Mix. I cooked until very tender and then removed from bone and removed fat. The next day I mixed ingredients except that I used half BBQ sauce/half ketchup and I cooked on low for 3-4 hours. Family really liked, very flavorful.*Halved ingredients since I used a smaller roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
sorry did not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Excellant. The hours it takes to cook is reflected in the taste. Try not to be impatient. The end result is wonderful. You can alter the sweet, the vinegar and the heat without spoiling the taste. Would unconditionally recommend this to everyone. Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was great. Used this recipe for left over roast beef. It wasn't really spicy enough so next time I will up the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Freaking delicious. I added a little variety by simmering the roast in beef broth, sliced onion and black pepper. I also added powdered chipotle pepper to the sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
My husband doesn't like any type of loose beef, but our daughter and myself absolutely love it! It took 7 pounds of questionable quality meat and turned it into a feast for days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I made this recipe for friends and family recently... everyone raved about it... and several stated it was the best beef barbecue they had ever eaten. Usually folks here make it with ground beef... so this one stood out from others... I will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you, Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made this by throwing all the ingredients together into the cooker. I used half the meat but I didn't halve the ingredients except for the ketchup. I omitted the ketchup and used 1 cup tomato purée. Upped the mustard too. Cooked on low for 8 hours. Tasted fantastic. Delicious. Definitely will make again. So easy and no mess. Thanks for the recipe! I think this will be very good the next time my son invites his friends over. Make a big batch of this meat, put out the pickles, cheese, lettuce and buns. Make a big bowl of coleslaw and the boys can feed themselves rather than keep ordering pizzas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I wouldn't like beef cooked like this. But the sauce sounded delicious and I wondered what I could do with it. I had cooked prawns in the frig, so I thought of using it for a dip or sauce. Then I remembered that I had a shoulder of lamb. I had cut a lot off it to put in the freezer, but I still had the bone with quite a lot of meat on it. I followed the recipe, except that I reduced the ingredients to a 1/4. I am rather wary of ketchup in cooking, so I used a bit and made the measure up with very good tomato sauce that I had in the frig. The result was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States