Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
These are super yummy and so fun to make with the kiddies. Followed the recipe exactly, except substituted butter for margarine, and they came out perfectly. They are not too spicy at all, in fact exactly what a gingerbread cookie should taste like. P.S. You definately have to refridgerate the dough overnite. I think that may be where some were having trouble?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Best.Gingerbread.cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
So good !! these go first in my house !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
The flavor of these cookies is just awesome! The reason I gave 4 stars and not 5 is that they are very difficult to roll and cut. Your dough needs to be and remain cold to roll and cut successfully, which would likely happen if you had stone counter tops and a stone or steel roller. If you are like me and don't have both then I recommend to use a touch of flour on the dough and roll it out between 2 pieces of parchment paper as other reviews have suggested. This worked somewhat well for me, I had to pop the cut yet unseparated dough in the fridge for a bit to get cookies off of the parchment paper. I guess you could also just pull off the excess and bake them on the parchment paper, I didn't try that but will next year! Bottom line: these cookies are worth the effort to roll! Bake them, enjoy, and share, if you can (it will be hard to let them go home with family)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmeriCanadian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Everybody is saying how their dough was too sticky, but I didn't have a problem with it. I used canola oil instead of margarine, so maybe that made a difference. Other alterations: I cut down on the cloves to 3/4 tsp, used 1/4 tsp salt, and I used 1/2 tsp ginger with a lot of freshly grated ginger too(maybe I'll use even more fresh ginger next time). I don't like very sweet things, so maybe next time I'll cut down on the sugar a bit. I expected to decorate them, but I liked them so much that I just left them plain. Eight minutes bake time left them crispy on the outside and slightly chewy in the middle. I didn't expect to like them as much as I did, and I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Great gingerbread cookies! I used butter & wheat flour and they were soft & perfect. I baked them for 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
When I was younger I HATED gingerbread cookies but I LOVED this recipe. The only change I made to it was I left out the ground cloves and I added homemade icing to the cookies after they cooled. They were delicious and I suggest you make two batches 'cause these cookies flew off the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Doubled the recipe. Subbed butter for the margarine, and used additional spices (cardamom, star anise & cayenne). No issue with dough, gave it ample chilling time. Nicely spiced and lovely texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have never been a fan of gingerbread cookies, until a friend shared her cookies from this recipe with me! The flavor was not overly powerful, yet lended just the right mount of spice. I'll definitely be making these again next Christmas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was a good recipe. I used black strap molasses and followed the recipe exactly. I found that keeping the dough thick made for chewy cookies. It was a nice adult gingerbread cookie- kind spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States