Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Don't let the name scare you. These are NOT spicy! They have just the right amount of spice IMO. I've never made gingerbread cookies before, so I followed the recipe EXACTLY and had no problems with the dough or the taste. The only thing I would do differently, is not bake them so long. They came out a little crispier then I like my cookies to be. That's why I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Yummy! We've made this a New Year's Day tradition--making a huge gingerbread man and decorating him together--and then of course eating him! This gingerbread is lovely--tender, sweet and very spicy! This is the first recipe I picked from allrecipes.com, and I don't feel the need to ever try any of the other recipes--I got perfection on the first one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Wonderful taste and texture to these cookies, my family couldn't get enough! And Santa loved them too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and they were great. Great for mailing too as they are not too soft or fragile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Aparicio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Washington, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Out of the 4 recipes I tried, this was the only cookie cut-out dough that didn't crumble into a mess. The cut-outs were perfect & easy enough for my 2 year old to help with. The cookies taste great too - I didn't know I liked gingerbread & my daughter thinks they are, "Yum! Really good cookies!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I found the 1/2 cup molasses too strong in taste with the first batch so I reduced it to 1/4 cup molasses and 1/4 cup golden syrup which turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Turned out perfect. Used butter instead of margarine, and the batter was very easy to roll out after chilling; not gooey or dry at all. Used only a few pinches of the tops of whole cloves; otherwise, followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The dough came out really sticky and we had difficulties cutting the cookies out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmessi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Perfect recipe. I did not change/add anything. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These are fantastic! Perfect soft cookie with a delicious and not over-powering gingerbread flavor. I did add a 1/2 c of flour as other posters recommended but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Even working with small portions from the refrigerator the dough needed to be a little stiffer. We ended up making another batch. A keeper for our Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 923) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States