Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I had really high hopes for these gingerbread cookies. The texture was perfect, but the flavors were way too pungent. Kind of reminds you of the Christmas candles. All the containers I put them in now have a permanent gingerbread smell!! :( Maybe I'll try again with half the spices....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
OMG! These cookies turned out great. My family loved them, the flavor was spot on! I made two batches to share with family / friends (two weeks ago) and am about to make more for Christmas because everyone keeps asking if I'm going to have them. They stay soft and chewy on the inside if you make them a little thicker but are all crisp on the outside. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Made this recipe exactly as is and they are WONDERFUL!!! I've made gingerbread before for houses and such and no one really wants to eat it....this one I could eat the whole pan!!! BRAVO, soft and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Did not like the taste at all. Overwhelming after taste from the molasses and cloves and ginger. I didn't even find it a pleasant cookie to eat. Working with the dough, in contrast to other reviewers wasn't a problem, but then I let the dough chill for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Best recipe! We make these every year at christmas and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tresses

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I was a little worried when I put the dough in the fridge as it was crubmly, but I worked it a little and it rolled out great. The most handsome gingerbread I've made and didn't puff up in the oven. I did leave out the cloves and added a bit more cinnamon. The flavour of the cookies is fantastic and my four year old and her friends love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
pretty good but not really kid-friendly with all the spices...VERY gingery, if that's a word. SPICEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Delicious - great spice flavor. Please note that the recipe takes an hour more than noted, if you do in fact chill dough for an hour as directed. This one goes in my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I'll give this 4 stars, because for those who love an authentic spicy gingerbread cookie, these are definitely spicy. The only modifications I made were using butter instead of margarine, and adding 1/2 cup brown sugar. The flavor was a little overwhelming for my taste, and did have a bit of an aftertaste. Next time I'll cut back on the cloves and molasses. However, they cooked great and were soft and chewy. Everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The cookies were delicious! Only complaint is that the dough needs to be instructed to chill for much longer. I let chill for 4 hours and it was still extremely difficult to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States