Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I did not double the spices like others suggested. Dough can be sticky but kept it chilled and coat with flour when rolling and its fine. Very good consistency and pretty color. I only baked for 8 min. and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I love, love, love this recipe! It's quick, easy, full of flavor and doesn't require tons of ingredients! I actually printed it off with the intention of making it closer to the holidays, but I was so pleased with its simplicity, that I took the recipe out of the drawer and got to baking! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Definitely double all the spices EXCEPT the cloves! I didn't change anything else. Turned out great! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I'm very happy with the results. I read through a lot of reviews and made notes before making them. I made just one batch and separated the dough into four, and then pressed flat between glad wrap so I didn't have to wait so long for it to set. I used butter, golden syrup, doubled the spices, and substituted allspice for cloves. Yes the dough is wet and crumbly and sticks to everything, but you just have to flour the work surface and rolling pin every time you roll and I had no problem at all. Use a spatula to get the men onto the tray if needed. And being Summer in Australia, I know to work fast because the dough will go back to room temperature in less than 5 minutes! I experimented with various thicknesses and will now make a batch to give away for Christmas. I would also suggest popping the baking trays with uncooked men back in the fridge for ten minutes first to help them keep their shape and not spread too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
To make them gluten free, substituted Gluten Free Bisquick for the flour. They were really excellent. A little more brittle because of that change, but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I followed the additions given by some of the other reviewers (3/4 cup brown sugar for the white sugar, bake for 7-8 minutes). I (like reviewer Rex) found that the dough was crumbly once I went to roll and bake them, so I sprinkled water on the dough as I worked it up to use. Very good flavour. I baked them for 7 minutes and even after cooling, they have some give. I will be adding this to my holiday repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesnbubbles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Discovered this recipe a couple of years ago and fell in love with gingerbread men! I followed the instructions, didn't change a thing - they came out perfect. I do ice the cookies once they are cool. They stay chewy for close to a week. I barely get 36 cookies from this batch, so best to double it if makiing for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Love love love this recipe. I'm on my second batch this week. I do refrigerate longer (because I'm usually running around doing other things) and that may be the difference since I've had no issues with stickiness...if anything, I have to knead the dough to get it stickier. I also use a non stick rolling pin and a cookie mat instead of flouring the rolling surface which works wonderfully. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
the dough wouldn't roll out and I had to form the cookies like drop cookies. Other than that they were ok though. Kids were mighty disappointed we couldn't do shapes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Great recipe and i made it with my 2 year old daughter - so very easy. I rolled out the dough thin between two cooking sheets. They taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 963) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States