Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I made it just as it said. Agree with other reviewers that it can be a bit sticky. I separated it into two batches and put them in the fridge for a good six hours. They still needed a lot of flour to roll out, and next time I make them, I think I will separate into three sections as another reviewer advised. Working flour into them solves the problem, but it's very easy to overdo it and then the dough eventually becomes hard to work with. Other than that, though, great recipe, good flavor, spicy but not over the top, bakes up perfectly with almost no spreading and hold their shapes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made these for Christmas last year and they were very good after doubling the spices. Just made a new batch for Christmas 2014 and ended up throwing the entire batch out. Made these exactly the same using all the same measurements I used last year and they rolled out perfectly, they held their shape while baking, decorated with melted white chocolate and thank God I taste tested these before putting them out...very very pasty. I have no idea why they failed this year and were such a success last Christmas. So very sad =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I like the spice after increasing the spices but feel it should be sweeter. I would add more sugar as well. As for the sticky issue that people are complaining about, yea it's sticky but, but refrigeration and a little flour used to roll it out fix that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Pros- Flavours were great! Texture of the final cookie was very soft. Cons- dough was super difficult to roll and cut cookies from...I had to freeze it, add tons of flour and roll small batches between parchment paper. Most of that effort wad in vain bc the cookies blobbed out while baking.. They vaguely held their shape. Make sure to roll the dough very thin to help them keep their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Too spicy for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
these cookies are AMAZING! They are so good! I Loved that They held there shape No changes needed! Perfect as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I want to update from a previous review I posted. I almost never bake, so when I saw margarine, I thought the stuff in my fridge was good to go. So, I'm wrong and there's other margarine that I should've been using! Even with my baking mishap (way too runny before), I was able to problem solve and the cookies were delicious. There's just the right amount of spices and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Perfect! This is the first time that I made 'real' gingerbread cookies and these were delicious! The kids had so much fun decorating and eating them...this is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I added cardamom and used butter instead of margarine, plus added some cayenne pepper, and these were spicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very nice and just the right "softness" it is just a bit too spicy for me, otherwise perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States