Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a extremely yummy cookie! Just enough bite, soft and really yummy! I think you have to keep the dough in the fridge so it doesn't get soft and sticky. Great cookie I'd give 6 star if I could Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Made these ginger men for my kids Xmas party all the kids loved them! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephaniePadilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
The best gingerbread recipe I have found yet and I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Love the amount of spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
These are super yummy and so fun to make with the kiddies. Followed the recipe exactly, except substituted butter for margarine, and they came out perfectly. They are not too spicy at all, in fact exactly what a gingerbread cookie should taste like. P.S. You definately have to refridgerate the dough overnite. I think that may be where some were having trouble?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Best.Gingerbread.cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
So good !! these go first in my house !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
The flavor of these cookies is just awesome! The reason I gave 4 stars and not 5 is that they are very difficult to roll and cut. Your dough needs to be and remain cold to roll and cut successfully, which would likely happen if you had stone counter tops and a stone or steel roller. If you are like me and don't have both then I recommend to use a touch of flour on the dough and roll it out between 2 pieces of parchment paper as other reviews have suggested. This worked somewhat well for me, I had to pop the cut yet unseparated dough in the fridge for a bit to get cookies off of the parchment paper. I guess you could also just pull off the excess and bake them on the parchment paper, I didn't try that but will next year! Bottom line: these cookies are worth the effort to roll! Bake them, enjoy, and share, if you can (it will be hard to let them go home with family)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmeriCanadian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Everybody is saying how their dough was too sticky, but I didn't have a problem with it. I used canola oil instead of margarine, so maybe that made a difference. Other alterations: I cut down on the cloves to 3/4 tsp, used 1/4 tsp salt, and I used 1/2 tsp ginger with a lot of freshly grated ginger too(maybe I'll use even more fresh ginger next time). I don't like very sweet things, so maybe next time I'll cut down on the sugar a bit. I expected to decorate them, but I liked them so much that I just left them plain. Eight minutes bake time left them crispy on the outside and slightly chewy in the middle. I didn't expect to like them as much as I did, and I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 963) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States