Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These are the BEST gingerbread cookies I've had. Some of my kids don't like gingerbread and loved these. I think it's important to use fresh spices. Sometimes when we use last year's spices they get dull and have less flavor. so buy new bottles and enjoy! We made these thick and they were soft and appeared "not done" when removed from the oven, but they are like a roast, let 'em sit on the sheet out of the oven for a few minutes and they're perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
My daughter and I make this recipe every Christmas. They are delicious! I made a batch yesterday and my daughter, son and a friend ate the whole batch in one afternoon/evening (Oh, yes, I had a few, too. :^). We don't change a thing; they are perfect as-is. The dough seems very soft, but after chilling they roll and cut out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe! I definitely had to knead more flour into the dough before rolling, but i expected as much. My little gingerbread guys held their shape perfectly, and the taste is delightful. I tripled the recipe and all worked out fine. I made royal icing from 3 egg whites, whipped into peaks, 3 cups powdered sugar, and some root beer extract to keep the spiced flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lehmbeck
Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Best gingerbread cookies I've ever made. Spicy and delicious. I did use butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Added 1/8 C brown sugar with the sugar and butter and an extra 1/8 C flour in hopes of using a crazy cookie cutter (it didn't work, the dough was sticky). Also only used 1/2 tsp of cloves and made up the difference with cinnamon and nutmeg. Glorious. I ended up using smaller cookie cutters (~2" tall and 1" wide) and cooked 7 minutes. I am high altitude, if that makes a difference. I cut them out on silicone cookie mats so I didn't have to transfer them. This probably reduces the life of the mats, but I could see no other way. The cookies were a hit at the party. Next time we plan on cutting out small sticks and building a structure. Not firm enough for large sheets for walls, but it will be a repeated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Followed recipe exactly and it wasnt just a little sticky, it was so sticky that after being overnight in the fridge it still would not roll out. The taste is excellent but making gingerbread"bread" instead of gingerbread"men" defeated the whole purpose of this recipe. I ended up baking it in one slab. Once it was cooled I cut out the cooled bread with heart shaped cookie cutters. I then made cinnamon ice cream,froze that as a slab and cut out heart shaped pieces of ice cream. I put the ice cream between 2 cookies and refroze until after dinner. The family loved the icrem sandwiches so I made success out of disaster. But I still do not have gingerbread men cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved these! Wonderful crispness and snap- proved to be very popular and I will will now be a regular in my Christmas baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Delicious & easy to make! Used butter instead of margarine. Dough was easy enough to work with as long as dough is cilled, and you sprinkle extra flour on rolling surface as well as following pin. Very tasty - got plenty of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
These are very good gingerbread people. I did use butter instead of margarine. I decreased the cloves to 1/2 teaspoon. I made some crisp and some soft. They were so cute after I decorated them. Will make again for sure,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by timichang
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Love this recipe! The children love these too! I wasn't able to get molasses and cloves. I replaced both molasses and sugar with brown sugar and omitted cloves. My family don't really like ginger but I used 1 teaspoon ginger powder. The aroma match with other spices very well! Everyone are able to accept it. If you are looking for a strong ginger taste/spicy you might want to increase the amount of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States