Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Good cookies. Nothing amazing, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Never made from scratch gingerbread before. BEST RECIPE EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Margar
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Took these to Thanksgiving last year and everyone raved! I followed the suggestion to double the spices except for the cloves, and added a dash of cayenne pepper (people seemed intrigued when I told them that was the secret!). I cut them out into leaf shapes and iced them with Royal Icing I recipe from this site, and dusted them with gold cake shimmer. Everyone loved them, both the taste and presentation. This will be my go-to gingerbread recipe, hands-down!! UPDATE: These cookies have won me an award at a cookie exchange! I give the credit to Eileen and shared the link to this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Cookies were chewy and delicious !! I substituted brown sugar instead of white sugar (1/2 cup). Next time I would add 1/2 tsp of allspice and only a half a tsp of cloves. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I thought the spice level was nice and it was easy to assemble, the only reason I am giving it 4 stars is because the dough cracked think it needed a bit more liquid to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Great recipe. Easy for young children to help with. Double up (or more) on all the spices - except cloves. Chill for 2 hours to reduce stickiness, and roll between sheets of wax paper. It was not super spicy (even though I doubled the spices), but great for most kids' palettes. I am not a frequent baker, yet I found this easy to make, and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
this is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These are my most favorite gingerbread men ever! They have the perfect amount of spice to them. I have tried several other recipes on here over the years and these have become a Christmas tradition. My entire family begs for them over the holidays. I follow the recipe to a T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kcrawford13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I made these as Christmas gifts. They were really good and got compliments from the recipients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States