Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Perfect as is. The only thing I did was double the recipe to make more yummy soft, spicy cookies. The dough was a joy to work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to make cookies for a "Candy-Land" event. After seeing ALL the different reviews.. I decided to give it a try. As far as the recipe itself; the only thing I changed was I cut the cloves in 1/2 and doubled the cinnamon. This was strictly for my taste preference as I don't like cloves as much and I love cinnamon. I wanted a "soft" cookie, so I rolled out to 1/4" and baked for 7 minutes. I only left the dough in the fridge for about 45 minutes. I used 2 pieces of parchment paper to roll it out (as recommended) and had NO PROBLEMS whatsoever! I think this recipe is easy, accurate and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I was so afraid of Gingerbread. No I don't know why!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Good cookies. Nothing amazing, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Never made from scratch gingerbread before. BEST RECIPE EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Margar
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Took these to Thanksgiving last year and everyone raved! I followed the suggestion to double the spices except for the cloves, and added a dash of cayenne pepper (people seemed intrigued when I told them that was the secret!). I cut them out into leaf shapes and iced them with Royal Icing I recipe from this site, and dusted them with gold cake shimmer. Everyone loved them, both the taste and presentation. This will be my go-to gingerbread recipe, hands-down!! UPDATE: These cookies have won me an award at a cookie exchange! I give the credit to Eileen and shared the link to this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Cookies were chewy and delicious !! I substituted brown sugar instead of white sugar (1/2 cup). Next time I would add 1/2 tsp of allspice and only a half a tsp of cloves. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I thought the spice level was nice and it was easy to assemble, the only reason I am giving it 4 stars is because the dough cracked think it needed a bit more liquid to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Great recipe. Easy for young children to help with. Double up (or more) on all the spices - except cloves. Chill for 2 hours to reduce stickiness, and roll between sheets of wax paper. It was not super spicy (even though I doubled the spices), but great for most kids' palettes. I am not a frequent baker, yet I found this easy to make, and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States