Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was a simple, easy cookie to make. I made it exactly like the recipe. Cooked them for 8mins and then let the cool for 5mins on cookie sheet before trying to move then to cooling rack. They were soft and a little chewy! It wasn't as spicy as I like, so I will increase the amount of all the spices next time. I frosted some of the cookies and liked it, but I was going for spicy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I used 1tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ginger. I might even go down with the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great recipe! First time tried it as written. Second time I adjusted spices to my liking - upped the ginger and cinnamon and decreased the cloves. I chilled the dough in a disc (like I would for pie dough) in a plastic ziplock bag. When I was ready to roll out the cookies, I divided the dough into 3 sections and only took one section at a time out of the fridge. The dough wasn't too sticky as some have commented. I had no issues with rolling the dough. I used 2 in star cookie cutter for shapes and left them plain without icing. I made 10 dozen for the cookie walk at school and they were gone before many of the other more 'fancy' cookies. These were a hit! I will be making more next week for a cookie exchange - those I will ice with royal icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My first gingerbread men. I upped the flour to 2-1/2 cups at first, and just a bit more during mixing, doubled the spices except clove and added 1/2 teaspoon allspice. Love them, my dough mix was dry and easy to ball and roll, and lift cookies. I did not need to chill before rolling. At first my dough was crumbly and could not hold together (due to more flour) but I sprinkled water until it just balled and held together to roll. A dream to cut and loved by all. A wonderful soft cookie. Also, my oven is broke so I baked them 3 at a time in a toaster over on a double sheet of aluminum foil... they came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I loved this recipe!!!! Added 1/4 tsp ground black pepper to the mixture. Held shape very well during baking. Very easy to make and very easy to roll out. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Warning Australians!! " Molasses" is what we call Golden Syrup. I learnt this the hard way, Australian molasses in this recipe was revolting, way too overpowering. Use golden syrup and its beautiful :) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WEW
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Loved this recipe. So tasty & the cookies came out awesome! The dough was a little sticky. next time i will divide the dough & refigerate it seperated. I used a little flour on the rolling surface & the rolling pin & gently rolled the dough out. Was just fine. I would definitely make this again & again. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
These are great cookies! I made two variations of them - one exactly as directed above and one modified by suggestions by previous reviews. My modification substituted 3/4th brown sugar for the white sugar, I doubled all the spices listed EXCEPT for cloves, and I added a 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne. Extra flour is NOT necessary - just separate into 3 sections and let the dough chill. I like spicy and found it in my modified version. In my option, the as-advertised version were quite mild. I chilled my dough for 3 hours and it worked great rolling with flour. I rolled my dough to 1/4th inch using my rubber rolling pin guides/spacers which you can find online if you're interested. I used a 3x2-1/2 inch gingerbread man cookie cutter and I got 25 cookies out of the as-directed batch and 30 out of the modified batch. I used the recipe for holiday cooking and would probably triple my modified recipe if done again. I baked mine for 8 minutes - took them out and immediately scooped them onto cooling racks - they turned out chewy and delicious. Resist the urge to over-bake or add flour! Royal icing is my suggestion for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Sticky dough. Couldn't even make a gingerbread man. Kept sticking to the cookie cutter. Followed the recipe exactly. Then added more flour to try and firm/dry it up. No matter how much flour I used the dough was still too soft and sticky. Ended up just rolling them up in little balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Made these exactly as written and they were easy to make and delicious. Thanks for the recipe and the wonderful memories making them with my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 963) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States