Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I found the 1/2 cup molasses too strong in taste with the first batch so I reduced it to 1/4 cup molasses and 1/4 cup golden syrup which turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Turned out perfect. Used butter instead of margarine, and the batter was very easy to roll out after chilling; not gooey or dry at all. Used only a few pinches of the tops of whole cloves; otherwise, followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The dough came out really sticky and we had difficulties cutting the cookies out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmessi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Perfect recipe. I did not change/add anything. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These are fantastic! Perfect soft cookie with a delicious and not over-powering gingerbread flavor. I did add a 1/2 c of flour as other posters recommended but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Even working with small portions from the refrigerator the dough needed to be a little stiffer. We ended up making another batch. A keeper for our Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was very easy. Added more ginger, removed cinnamon. Kids loved em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Vito

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I bake a lot from scratch because we have an 8 year old with Crohn's Disease (intestinal inflammation). Food doesn't change the disease, as in Celiac, but it reduces the symptoms. He's lactose intolerant because of the disease (among other things). He's sensitive to some spices too. He does very well with ginger and it helps his belly!! Nevertheless, I'm always looking for kid-friendly, simple, and Crohn's friendly foods and this recipe is it. Thus, I reduce the cloves etc. and bump-up the cinnamon and ginger. I use SmartBalance lactose-free butter. I LOVE basic recipes that allow me to make these changes. I like how you used the egg yolk to get the consistency right--the cookies have the potential to be soft--but not cakey or goopy. You indeed don't need the egg white as I've seen as a mistake in other recipes. 50/50 on the powder and soda, very nice. I bake for 8 minutes and they are PERFECT! Also, this dough works great with parchment paper and doesn't stick or require flouring. I live in Germany as well, and I'd say they rival what you'd find in our markets. THANKS for posting a great recipe, it's helping a kid with a disease that is not so great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
the cookies were delicious! my only problem was keeping them in shape. One of the reviews said that they keep their shape, so they stay as you make them after baking. not exactly true. They expand dramaticly and crack, so put them at least three inches apart. Mine came out a mess, but very tasty mess. I won't be able to decorate them though. Dough is also not too easy to work with, it sticks alot, but I covered the working place with parchment paper and wrapped the roller in parchment paper as well. oh, the cookies are so good! not spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Absolutely outstanding. Only change I made was to use butter instead of margarine. I'm a bit of a "Cookie Queen" - and these are without a doubt my absolute favourite cookies. Enjoy !! (And make double batch, at least!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Best Gingerbread Cookie Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States