Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I was so afraid of Gingerbread. No I don't know why!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Good cookies. Nothing amazing, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Never made from scratch gingerbread before. BEST RECIPE EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Margar
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Took these to Thanksgiving last year and everyone raved! I followed the suggestion to double the spices except for the cloves, and added a dash of cayenne pepper (people seemed intrigued when I told them that was the secret!). I cut them out into leaf shapes and iced them with Royal Icing I recipe from this site, and dusted them with gold cake shimmer. Everyone loved them, both the taste and presentation. This will be my go-to gingerbread recipe, hands-down!! UPDATE: These cookies have won me an award at a cookie exchange! I give the credit to Eileen and shared the link to this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Cookies were chewy and delicious !! I substituted brown sugar instead of white sugar (1/2 cup). Next time I would add 1/2 tsp of allspice and only a half a tsp of cloves. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I thought the spice level was nice and it was easy to assemble, the only reason I am giving it 4 stars is because the dough cracked think it needed a bit more liquid to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Great recipe. Easy for young children to help with. Double up (or more) on all the spices - except cloves. Chill for 2 hours to reduce stickiness, and roll between sheets of wax paper. It was not super spicy (even though I doubled the spices), but great for most kids' palettes. I am not a frequent baker, yet I found this easy to make, and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
this is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These are my most favorite gingerbread men ever! They have the perfect amount of spice to them. I have tried several other recipes on here over the years and these have become a Christmas tradition. My entire family begs for them over the holidays. I follow the recipe to a T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kcrawford13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States