Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I want to update from a previous review I posted. I almost never bake, so when I saw margarine, I thought the stuff in my fridge was good to go. So, I'm wrong and there's other margarine that I should've been using! Even with my baking mishap (way too runny before), I was able to problem solve and the cookies were delicious. There's just the right amount of spices and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Perfect! This is the first time that I made 'real' gingerbread cookies and these were delicious! The kids had so much fun decorating and eating them...this is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I added cardamom and used butter instead of margarine, plus added some cayenne pepper, and these were spicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very nice and just the right "softness" it is just a bit too spicy for me, otherwise perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Super yummy. You made them last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redfisher80
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These came out so well! My boyfriend's one request was to make them more spicier. I saw other reviewers comments to double the spices (except nutmeg) but I decided to see how it came out first before changing the recipe. Next batch will definitely have the doubled spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Photo by Jeannie
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Great for making gingerbread houses. Triple the recipe for a large house. Also use chocolate candy melts to fuse together the pieces. Can't melts give a stronger fuse than royal icing and it dries faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Tastes just like Grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I followed the advice of others and substituted 3/4Cup of brown sugar for the white sugar and didn't have any issue with the the texture of the cookies being like cardboard but I also don't pack my flour, I make sure it's nice and fluffy when measured off, and level it with a knife. I make nice thick 1/4 inch cookies so they're softer. I cut 3 of them real thin and they were crunchy and hard, so definitely make sure you roll them out to a decent thickness... I definitely agree with other reviewers that they weren't necessarily "spicy" like the title says. I will make these again and try doubling the spices like another reviewer suggested. After making them again I will modify my review. Definitely like this recipe and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I added a touch more flour, I was more concerned with the cookie holding its shape for little ones to decorate than I was the texture while eating. I used a heaping Tbsp of Epicure Selections Gingerbread Spice instead of all of the spices and the cookie tastes fantastic. When I rolled it out, I did it in smaller sections (to punch 2 to 4 cookies at once, makes it less of a headache to roll, and ends up being more even (hard to even out a giant ball!). keep packing the scraps back into a ball and re-rolling, I got about 20 decent sized cookies (wilton silicone grip cutter-sized). Definitely make again, easy recipe! I would also say its not necessary to chill, because I ended up warming it up in my hands to roll better. Make them a little thicker than 1/4" if you want them to be sturdy enough for little hands, and I only baked for 7 minutes and even then the bottom was a touch too brown, but good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLAMORT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 949) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States