Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Excellent flavor. I rolled it into a log and froze it, thawed it, rolled the log in powdered sugar, and used unflavored dental floss to slice it into rounds. Perfect, soft, and flavorful. In an ideal world I'd have cut them into gingerbread men but I haven't got time this year -- but these are delicious even for those of us who aren't keen on cookie cutters! Thanks for sharing! P.S. I used less cloves and more cinnamon due to taste preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have never written a review before but this recipe is so delicious I just had to. It took me right back to my childhood and the cookies my German Great Grandmother used to make. The dough is super simple to work with and you can even bake them a bit longer if you like a crispier cookie without the flavor changing at all. Can't say enough good things about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefs-Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are wonderful! Followed the recipe exactly - perfect. Moist and delicious, but plenty firm enough for easy transport, gifting, decorating, whatever you need. We rolled out between parchment sheets, which made things very easy. My two-year-old decorated by drizzling melted white chocolate on top. They look wonderful and taste amazing. These could be a new tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I followed Darling Dash's suggestion and used 1.5 cups flour and 3/4 cups brown sugar and also doubled the spices except the clove. They were delicious! Really hard to roll out until you get the hang of it. I rolled between two pieces of parchment with generous amounts of flour. I separated the cut cookies with a metal floured spatula. My cookies for some reason really poofed up (might be the different brand of baking soda I used...) so I had to roll them really really thin, less than a fourth of an inch. They were super tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
My intention was to make a gingerbread house with this recipe but it was too wet. Had to add more flour and double spices as others mentioned (except cloves). Did make great gingerbread men with these changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Great recipe love the flavor these cookies have. The only difference I made was I used butter because that is what I had. You definitely need to chill the dough for an hour or a little more. I found it easy to roll out and work with. Put the dough your not using at the time back in the fridge to stay chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I added 1/8 tsp cardamom to spice it up even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I had really high hopes for these gingerbread cookies. The texture was perfect, but the flavors were way too pungent. Kind of reminds you of the Christmas candles. All the containers I put them in now have a permanent gingerbread smell!! :( Maybe I'll try again with half the spices....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
OMG! These cookies turned out great. My family loved them, the flavor was spot on! I made two batches to share with family / friends (two weeks ago) and am about to make more for Christmas because everyone keeps asking if I'm going to have them. They stay soft and chewy on the inside if you make them a little thicker but are all crisp on the outside. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Made this recipe exactly as is and they are WONDERFUL!!! I've made gingerbread before for houses and such and no one really wants to eat it....this one I could eat the whole pan!!! BRAVO, soft and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States