Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is excellent if you like a spicy and slightly soft cookie. We doubled all spices except the cloves and added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. Cut outs are very difficult. What we do is roll out on parchment paper and then cut out the shapes but place them in the fridge. Then with the cutout metal still in place we remove the surrounding dough so they keep their shape. We bake them on the same parchment paper. We get rave reviews on these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Theresa were the best gingerbread cookie I've ever had. I did add the extra flour, as some reviewers suggested. I also have very small children and do not have the time to roll and cookie cut, so I teaspoon rolled them, then rolled them in green and red sprinkles for our holiday liking. I also pushed a small chocolate chip into the middle to look like the peanut butter kiss cookies. Super cute. Super yummy, and great with iced latte... Santa will be pleased to have these laid out for him...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These cookies turned out great. I will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Dough was very dry. Had to add lots of oil to give it some moisture. My kids love the taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Good recipe. Very sticky dough but easily remedied by flouring your surface well before cutting out shapes. Also you can knead in extra flour if it's too sticky. Better too sticky than too dry which makes it impossible. If you can't make this recipe, then maybe you should buy your dough instead. Or stop baking altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Wow! Loved this recipe! The first gingerbread I've made that came out soft and delicious! They're usually crunchy. I accidentally put in the whole egg instead of just the yolk, and it was fine. And yes, this is a rolled cookie so you need to work in small batches, flour your work surface, your rolling pin, and your dough ball. Practice makes perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Has a spicy essence but not too strong. They are a good classic taste. I frosted with melted white chocolate for a bit of added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I have used this recipe for several years now. I look forward to the holidays so I can make these. The only thing that I have changed is using butter instead of margarine. Delicious and soft cookies every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
When I made this for my family, they immediately became the "World's best gingerbread men". In Norway, which is where I live we usually have this tradition where the kids in the family cut out these in different sizes and shapes, decorate them and then eat them for Christmas. so this is my rating: Taste: 12/10 Shape-ability: 8/10 Spices: 100/10 Well to make a summary, Best recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These are the BEST gingerbread cookies I've had. Some of my kids don't like gingerbread and loved these. I think it's important to use fresh spices. Sometimes when we use last year's spices they get dull and have less flavor. so buy new bottles and enjoy! We made these thick and they were soft and appeared "not done" when removed from the oven, but they are like a roast, let 'em sit on the sheet out of the oven for a few minutes and they're perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States