Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I used Darlingdash's tip (3/4 brown sugar, 1 1/2 cups flour), and someone else's tip to dust off the extra flour before baking them. The result was so delicious I ate two before my husband caught me. That said, it's been a long time since I made gingerbread, and I forgot that they rise. My dinosaurs are indistinguishable from my trains, snow-people, and pine trees. I also had to put half the dough back in the fridge because it was getting too soft to roll out. For the rest of the dough, and the next batch, I will stick to more traditional, and less distinct gingerbread people, and put fewer on my baking tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Good flavor but the dough is way too soft - needs more flour - will search for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Not spicy enough with the spices as indicated. Did not make 2 1/2 dozen, but maybe my cutter is large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I love this recipe. I have tried others and they don't even come close to the flavor that these cookies have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I did not double the spices like others suggested. Dough can be sticky but kept it chilled and coat with flour when rolling and its fine. Very good consistency and pretty color. I only baked for 8 min. and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I love, love, love this recipe! It's quick, easy, full of flavor and doesn't require tons of ingredients! I actually printed it off with the intention of making it closer to the holidays, but I was so pleased with its simplicity, that I took the recipe out of the drawer and got to baking! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Definitely double all the spices EXCEPT the cloves! I didn't change anything else. Turned out great! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I'm very happy with the results. I read through a lot of reviews and made notes before making them. I made just one batch and separated the dough into four, and then pressed flat between glad wrap so I didn't have to wait so long for it to set. I used butter, golden syrup, doubled the spices, and substituted allspice for cloves. Yes the dough is wet and crumbly and sticks to everything, but you just have to flour the work surface and rolling pin every time you roll and I had no problem at all. Use a spatula to get the men onto the tray if needed. And being Summer in Australia, I know to work fast because the dough will go back to room temperature in less than 5 minutes! I experimented with various thicknesses and will now make a batch to give away for Christmas. I would also suggest popping the baking trays with uncooked men back in the fridge for ten minutes first to help them keep their shape and not spread too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
To make them gluten free, substituted Gluten Free Bisquick for the flour. They were really excellent. A little more brittle because of that change, but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I followed the additions given by some of the other reviewers (3/4 cup brown sugar for the white sugar, bake for 7-8 minutes). I (like reviewer Rex) found that the dough was crumbly once I went to roll and bake them, so I sprinkled water on the dough as I worked it up to use. Very good flavour. I baked them for 7 minutes and even after cooling, they have some give. I will be adding this to my holiday repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 917) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States