Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Followed recipe exactly and it wasnt just a little sticky, it was so sticky that after being overnight in the fridge it still would not roll out. The taste is excellent but making gingerbread"bread" instead of gingerbread"men" defeated the whole purpose of this recipe. I ended up baking it in one slab. Once it was cooled I cut out the cooled bread with heart shaped cookie cutters. I then made cinnamon ice cream,froze that as a slab and cut out heart shaped pieces of ice cream. I put the ice cream between 2 cookies and refroze until after dinner. The family loved the icrem sandwiches so I made success out of disaster. But I still do not have gingerbread men cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved these! Wonderful crispness and snap- proved to be very popular and I will will now be a regular in my Christmas baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Delicious & easy to make! Used butter instead of margarine. Dough was easy enough to work with as long as dough is cilled, and you sprinkle extra flour on rolling surface as well as following pin. Very tasty - got plenty of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
These are very good gingerbread people. I did use butter instead of margarine. I decreased the cloves to 1/2 teaspoon. I made some crisp and some soft. They were so cute after I decorated them. Will make again for sure,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by timichang
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Love this recipe! The children love these too! I wasn't able to get molasses and cloves. I replaced both molasses and sugar with brown sugar and omitted cloves. My family don't really like ginger but I used 1 teaspoon ginger powder. The aroma match with other spices very well! Everyone are able to accept it. If you are looking for a strong ginger taste/spicy you might want to increase the amount of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I swapped out the white sugar for brown sugar and added an extra 1/2 tsp of ginger but otherwise stuck to the recipe. These were absurdly sticky, even after two hours in the fridge. I think I worked in two or three cups of flour just to make them manageable. The flavor was bland, probably in part to the extra flour, and didn't have any sweetness. I got 20 gingerbread men out of the batch and because I was tight on time I decided to pipe on some frosting and serve them anyway, but I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Half Assed Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I used Darlingdash's tip (3/4 brown sugar, 1 1/2 cups flour), and someone else's tip to dust off the extra flour before baking them. The result was so delicious I ate two before my husband caught me. That said, it's been a long time since I made gingerbread, and I forgot that they rise. My dinosaurs are indistinguishable from my trains, snow-people, and pine trees. I also had to put half the dough back in the fridge because it was getting too soft to roll out. For the rest of the dough, and the next batch, I will stick to more traditional, and less distinct gingerbread people, and put fewer on my baking tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Good flavor but the dough is way too soft - needs more flour - will search for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Not spicy enough with the spices as indicated. Did not make 2 1/2 dozen, but maybe my cutter is large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I love this recipe. I have tried others and they don't even come close to the flavor that these cookies have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 923) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States