Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by PieKid
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I like this recipe but might add more spice next time. Be sure to ONLY use the egg yolk - I threw in the whole egg and I think that might be why I needed to add so much flour to roll them out. I did chill overnight but still sticky. Anyway, it's pretty good and I will use it again next year! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I kept getting my gingerbread recipes mixed up so I am writing this so I don't forget. I like the flavor of these cookies but they were hard as a rock. I think they would be better named ginger snaps. I will keep searching for the recipe I made a few years ago. They were nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Perfect gingerbread recipe. I undercooked them by about 2 minutes and they were still chewy enough to hold well over the next 3 days. I will definitely be doing this recipe again in Christmas' to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great cookie recipe, used exactly as written except for butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made these today with my ten year old for a girls scout bake sale tomorrow. What a yummy recipe! Don't be discouraged by the negative reviews referring to sticky dough. This is a dream dough and I believe those reviews were transferred to this recipe when a different recipe was removed from the site. Easy to work with and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have never made gingerbread cookies before and I made these with my two year old daughter. The recipe was super easy to follow and the cookies came out great, the perfect mix of spices! I rolled the first few cookies a bit too thin, so they definitely do need to be 1/4 inch in width. Thanks for the great recipe- I will be using this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Followed recipe exactly & chilled overnight. The dough was the consistency of muffin batter - super sticky. Added 1/2 cup more flour & used a lot of flour when rolling - worked out well. Tasted good & looked good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I've used this recipe for several years now and have never had a problem with it - I make it exactly as it is. The dough is easy to roll out and the cookies come out tasting fantastic. Do watch while they are in the oven - it depends on how thin you've rolled out your dough and how hot your oven runs. It's just common sense no matter what the cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This dough is VERY sticky to work with, there is a very heavy molasses flavour which over powers the spiciness and the final product is not crispy but chewy. I followed the recipe to a T wih the exception of adding more flour so that I could work with it, and I am very very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 963) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States