Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I want to update from a previous review I posted. I almost never bake, so when I saw margarine, I thought the stuff in my fridge was good to go. So, I'm wrong and there's other margarine that I should've been using! Even with my baking mishap (way too runny before), I was able to problem solve and the cookies were delicious. There's just the right amount of spices and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Perfect! This is the first time that I made 'real' gingerbread cookies and these were delicious! The kids had so much fun decorating and eating them...this is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I added cardamom and used butter instead of margarine, plus added some cayenne pepper, and these were spicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very nice and just the right "softness" it is just a bit too spicy for me, otherwise perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Super yummy. You made them last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redfisher80
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These came out so well! My boyfriend's one request was to make them more spicier. I saw other reviewers comments to double the spices (except nutmeg) but I decided to see how it came out first before changing the recipe. Next batch will definitely have the doubled spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Photo by Jeannie
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Great for making gingerbread houses. Triple the recipe for a large house. Also use chocolate candy melts to fuse together the pieces. Can't melts give a stronger fuse than royal icing and it dries faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Tastes just like Grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I followed the advice of others and substituted 3/4Cup of brown sugar for the white sugar and didn't have any issue with the the texture of the cookies being like cardboard but I also don't pack my flour, I make sure it's nice and fluffy when measured off, and level it with a knife. I make nice thick 1/4 inch cookies so they're softer. I cut 3 of them real thin and they were crunchy and hard, so definitely make sure you roll them out to a decent thickness... I definitely agree with other reviewers that they weren't necessarily "spicy" like the title says. I will make these again and try doubling the spices like another reviewer suggested. After making them again I will modify my review. Definitely like this recipe and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I added a touch more flour, I was more concerned with the cookie holding its shape for little ones to decorate than I was the texture while eating. I used a heaping Tbsp of Epicure Selections Gingerbread Spice instead of all of the spices and the cookie tastes fantastic. When I rolled it out, I did it in smaller sections (to punch 2 to 4 cookies at once, makes it less of a headache to roll, and ends up being more even (hard to even out a giant ball!). keep packing the scraps back into a ball and re-rolling, I got about 20 decent sized cookies (wilton silicone grip cutter-sized). Definitely make again, easy recipe! I would also say its not necessary to chill, because I ended up warming it up in my hands to roll better. Make them a little thicker than 1/4" if you want them to be sturdy enough for little hands, and I only baked for 7 minutes and even then the bottom was a touch too brown, but good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLAMORT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States