Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
It was yummy, decreased the cloves by half due to personal taste. Received lots of positive feedback; definite crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
we ate all of them in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe last year and I can tell you this, loved it! the cookies melted in my mouth and were perfectly spiced. my only complaint is that the dough is a tad sticky, but I fixed that by keeping the dough in the fridge between batches and making sure to flour the rolling pin. And I'm definitely making this again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
my 6 year old loved these, my hubby said they needed to be iced more. But he doesn't really like gingerbread cookies. I iced them with homemade royal icing. I also tinted some of the dough red and put little hearts in the middle, since it is close to valentines day. The dough was very sticky and hard to work with even though I did refrigderate it and use whole wheat flour. Other wise this recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this recipe using Shortening rather than Margarine. -someone old me that margarine/butter doughs spread more, and shortening stays in shape better. Otherwise I followed recipe to a T. I would recommend rolling the dough out on the parchment paper that you'll be baking on, cut out the shapes, and remove the excess away. This way your cookies stay in shape and don't stick to the surface. Chilling scrap dough before re-rolling helps a lot. Rolling and baking on same parchment paper also helps when you move the cookies onto a cooling rack. Recipe also works for Gingerbread Houses. I rolled the dough out to about 3/8", dough made 1 house with a bit left over for trees, decorations, and a chimney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
very good recipe. Husband loves gingerbread. They were moist for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I wanted to try a gingerbread recipe this year and I chose this one after reading all the reviews till 2 in the morning!!! I selected changes I liked and went with it. My changes were to add 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup honey to replace the sugar and molasses. I cut back on the cloves and doubled the other ones. I put it in the refridge overnight and started rolling in the morning. I too found the dough very sticky and carefully added flour quickly so I could roll fast. I used parchment paper and baked them for 7-8 minutes. My daughter-in-law could not stop eating them and kept telling me they were the best!! They came out soft and so flavorful!!! Thank you so much everyone for your inputs which caused me to have such a wonderful "first" gingerbread cookie. Take time to read the reviews and go for it, this one will NOT dissapoint!! Btw, it made 16 4" gingerbread men. Don't give up on the dough, persevere and you will be rewarded!!! Use the pastry brush to get rid of powdery flour on them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
It's a delicious cookie, but I agree with previous comments about it not being spicy enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Excellent! Followed Ingredients exactly with great results. I prefer a softrr cookie and cooked at 350 for 8 minutes. After they come out of the oven wait a couple mnutes to transfer to cooling rack so they dont break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe has been a big hit with my family. I made them twice recently--as written. We all loved the cookies, decorated or not. They will be the go-to for gingerbread! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States