Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by LoriAnn
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I did not use cloves- I didn't have any- but I thought the flavor was just perfect, definitely spicy but not over the top. When rolling out the dough it got soft pretty quickly, so you have to work quite fast and keep the excess in the fridge. Keep dusting your surface and even the spatula to move them to the tray. However, it is so worth it. They bake beautifully. I let them go 10 minutes- I prefer a little crispness, and found them perfect.---After cooling I used a white frosting and a gingerbread flavored frosting and they tasted fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
These were pretty good. They had good spices and weren't too dry. They aren't the best gingerbread men I have made,but they are fairly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doglover101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Soft and just perfectly spicy! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I had a horrible experience with this recipe. I made them exactly as written, but there was NOT enough flour, I let the dough sit overnight and I could not roll these out. They were so sticky I couldn't move them after cutting them out. I tried baking some but the taste and texture wasn't worth the effort, I threw the rest away. I'll try another recipe for our gingerbread this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
i didnt have dry ginger so grated ginger root! they wer nice and spicy like gingerbread should be. A great recipe nd cookies turned out fabulous. I added a bit more flour when rolling out the dough as it was a bit sticky but otherwise, I will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
After reading the reviews I added a little more cinnamon, ginger and cut the cloves in half. I also used butter. They came out very good and rolled out nicely after chilling. Also used white whole wheat to add more nutrition. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was only my second time ever making home-made cookies and I must say this recipe was fantastic and very easy to make, though I didn't follow it exactly. I did what other reviewers suggested and halved the cloves and doubled the other spices. I also used honey instead of molasses because that's all I had. The dough was perfect, easy to roll and cut. My kids enjoyed cutting the shapes and icing the cookies. The end result was the best gingerbread cookies I have ever eaten. My family loved them so much that they ate the entire batch within 24 hours (which was almost 3 dozen!) and asked me to make more. My oldest daughter also asked me to make some for her school Christmas party and bake sale. Thank you for a wonderful recipe that my family enjoyed making and eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was a simple, easy cookie to make. I made it exactly like the recipe. Cooked them for 8mins and then let the cool for 5mins on cookie sheet before trying to move then to cooling rack. They were soft and a little chewy! It wasn't as spicy as I like, so I will increase the amount of all the spices next time. I frosted some of the cookies and liked it, but I was going for spicy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I used 1tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ginger. I might even go down with the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great recipe! First time tried it as written. Second time I adjusted spices to my liking - upped the ginger and cinnamon and decreased the cloves. I chilled the dough in a disc (like I would for pie dough) in a plastic ziplock bag. When I was ready to roll out the cookies, I divided the dough into 3 sections and only took one section at a time out of the fridge. The dough wasn't too sticky as some have commented. I had no issues with rolling the dough. I used 2 in star cookie cutter for shapes and left them plain without icing. I made 10 dozen for the cookie walk at school and they were gone before many of the other more 'fancy' cookies. These were a hit! I will be making more next week for a cookie exchange - those I will ice with royal icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 920) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States