Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made this exactly according to the directions. The dough was difficult to work with and I didn't think the end product was worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookneal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
The good news: these are pretty tasty. The bad news: the dough is impossible to work with (waaaaay too sticky, even if kept well chilled), these spread, and the cooking time listed is too long. Since others complained about their cookies turning out tough if they added flour, I didn't add any to mine. In retrospect, I should have - I couldn't really cut shapes out of these. Once I discovered that they spread pretty badly, I went ahead and just made rolled them by hand and flattened them into circles. That worked well enough, but I certainly didn't get the cute shapes I was going for. If I were to make this again, I would add another 1/2-1 c flour, but I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
The flavor was not bad, but the recipe needs a serious flour amount adjustment. I was stuck for a recipe in a hurry and hoped this would be good, but with the sticky inaccurate consistency of the dough, it was disappointing. I shouldn't have to read reviews to make a recipe with a 4 1/2 star rating come out properly. Please rate the recipe based on its initial quality, not your tweaked versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Just nibbling on my first bite out of the oven. These are delicious! Plenty spicy IMO, and we have pretty heavy spice-tolerance in our household. I substituted 1 stick unsalted butter for the margarine called for by the recipe, and I did use blackstrap molasses, which IMO makes these marvelous and rich flavored -- but I tend to prefer my cookies with a little 'bite' of bitterness (think Oreos without the filling), so the blackstrap was great for that. Healthy, too. You definitely can't skip the chilling-in-the-fridge stage, or the dough is too sticky, but with a very small dusting of flour, the chilled dough rolled out beautifully. Remember not to roll it too thin, too, because your cookies will be crispy and brittle; thicker cookies are better here. This one's going into the annual-recipes box!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Although the dough was a little bit of a pain to work with (would crack and not roll out easily), the cookies turned out great! I sub'd out the ground cloves for all spice (didn't have any cloves on hand) and they turned out yummy. Looking forward to icing them and getting some ready for Santa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is a perfect recipe! There is no need to change a thing. The only advice I can offer is if you prefer a crispy cookie you can roll these out thinner, and if you like them soft, roll them to the 1/4 inch thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTAL88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is the perfect gingerbread cookie recipe. I have a home child care and often bake with the kids, and this recipe was perfect as written. The dough was very easy to work with, and the flavor isn't too molasses-y- sometimes the the little kiddos dont care for that strong flavor. These were very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoriAnn
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I did not use cloves- I didn't have any- but I thought the flavor was just perfect, definitely spicy but not over the top. When rolling out the dough it got soft pretty quickly, so you have to work quite fast and keep the excess in the fridge. Keep dusting your surface and even the spatula to move them to the tray. However, it is so worth it. They bake beautifully. I let them go 10 minutes- I prefer a little crispness, and found them perfect.---After cooling I used a white frosting and a gingerbread flavored frosting and they tasted fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
These were pretty good. They had good spices and weren't too dry. They aren't the best gingerbread men I have made,but they are fairly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doglover101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Soft and just perfectly spicy! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 917) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States