Egyptian Rose Leaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made these and they were wonderful! Please be careful about the recipe because it mentions a "butter mixture" in step 1, and there is no butter in it as written, only shortening (unless you substitute butter for shortening). Perhaps the first step should indicate "non-dry ingredients" instead of "butter mixture." Enjoy! And I have added red and pink sugars when I flattened them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
These are excellent little cookies that go great with tea, coffee, and Valentines day (with the addition of some pink coloring) :) I have made them a couple different times and the most time consuming part is the waiting and the molding. Subbed cake flour once for a more delicate cookie because it was on hand, and was happy with the result. My husband gobbles them down like a bad addiction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I Loved these. They were nice and chewy, just the way I like my cookies! They are a little time consuming to shape but the result is nice. I used rose water because I couldn't find the fluid anywere. I used 2 1/2 teaspoons, and got a barely there rose flavor, so I think I'll double it again nex time to 5 teaspoons. Also, I got 55 cookies, not 36. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Taste wise this was good. It was a little bland but I think that could be fixed with a little more rose flavoring. I did not have rose water so I used rose syrup and put 2 tsp of that in the mixture but next time I will use more of the syrup. I also used butter instead of crisco bc that is all I had in the house. Overall it was a very light cookie and everyone liked it. BTW : you REALLY need to watch these cookies bc it can overcook very easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I was disappointed in the overall look and texture of these cookies. And you must be a fan of rosewater (or maybe I put TOO much in). Anyway, I use rosewater in my strawberry rosewater ice cream (posted on allrecipes) and love it. But maybe I like it better there because it is complimentary to the berries. Not a keeper recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
these cookies taste great and I always have the ingredients to make them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
these were darling little cookies. Made the dough this morning and refrigerated and took out a little at a time to work with. Debated using butter for shortening but wanted the rose essence to come through so used crisco instead. upped the rosewater to 2 tsp. and tinted with red food coloring. Used the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar to flatten and used green sprinkles for the 'stem'. With the bit of white sugar left from the glass, it gave the 'bud' a pretty sparkle. rosewater that I used was homemade and is a bit stronger than the 'Swad' brand sold in stores. Could easily sub rosewater for orange blossom water. thanks for the recipe and will make a pretty and interesting cookie to give away to the neighbors. As made above, these would make for a lovely presentation for a bridal shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I would give these 3.5 if it were possible. They tasted quite nice, although they didn't look nearly as pretty as I had hoped. I also think they could be improved by using butter - the flavor was a little bit bland. I think I will simply add the rosewater to my favorite shortbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Sooo yummy. I love these, being a huge fan of the 'rose' flavour. I did half of them the way as directed, the other half with cherry cordial filled Hershey Kisses-- both sets turned out really well! Mmm. They don't freeze and keep as well as some other cookies, but they're still yummy after time. They just loose their flavour and texture somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanesia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I tinted the dough a light pink, made pecan size balls and rolled them in pink sparkling sugar before baking. Pressed them down slightly so they were thick circles and then baked. Soon as they came out of the oven, I pressed a Hershey's kiss in the middle of the top. They turned out to be the most attractive out of 8 different cookies that my granddaughter and I made for Valentine cookie trays. We had several comments about how pretty and unusal they were. (People were surprised by the light rose scent.) These cookies will be a standard on our trays now. Thank you J., I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States