Egyptian Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
The soup was easy to make and tasted fantastic. We're not huge cumin lovers but as is, it wasn't overwhelming. The flavors blended together nicely. The only change I made was to use chicken broth instead of the 3 cups water. Great recipe! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mictlantecuhtli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup and it was so easy to make! Only 4 four stars because I couldn't follow the recipe exactly. I can't eat onions or garlic so I had to leave them out, but I added a rib of celery and some celery seed at the beginning and it turned out great. It froze really well too. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very tasty. It was a little thick so I thinned it with some chicken broth. I made a double batch so I could freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I was looking for a middle eastern flavored lentil soup and this was the closest recipe I found. Honestly, I didn't follow to the letter because I wanted to double the servings and use canned tomatoes. I didn't have high expectations for giving me that middle eastern taste I was craving but don't know how to cook. What can I say? It was DELICIOUS and super easy! Completely satisfying for the craving and the ease. Thanks for the recipe! Hope you don't mind I rated it, even though I didn't follow it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Excellent!!!! Easy to make and fantastic taste. I started "tasting"during cooking and after a while I realized I had almost eaten half a plate .....thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Pretty good soup. Easy to make. I think I liked it better unblended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I will rate this a 5 because it is an excellent recipe. I prefer a balance of equal parts cumin to coriander powder though. Nevertheless it is very healthy and can be easily modified according to personal preference. If no fresh tomatoes are available, use a tbsp of tomato paste. If you like olive oil then sautee onions in it before adding the rest of the ingredients. Olive oil and a dash of lemon juice adds a nice finishing touch too. More people should try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I loved it! I followed the recipe as is. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
We had this with fresh bread and butter, all five of us loved it, I changed it a little because I tripled it and added left over turkey and canned tomatoes and 3 stalks of celery, also used chicken broth for the first water. I have given 5 stars as all five of us has agreed that it should be a weekly meal. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was super easy and delicious! My grandkids has never had lentils and they loved them! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States