Egyptian Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LJ
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I liked it! I worked in and Egyptian restaurant that made the soup. But I used vegetable bouillon and upped it to 1 teaspoon. The Egyptians usually make it vegan he told me. I also added an additional Roma and more onion. And added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper. Blended in well in a blender and it was fantastic! I love crackers and mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Pretty good soup. Easy to make. I think I liked it better unblended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I will rate this a 5 because it is an excellent recipe. I prefer a balance of equal parts cumin to coriander powder though. Nevertheless it is very healthy and can be easily modified according to personal preference. If no fresh tomatoes are available, use a tbsp of tomato paste. If you like olive oil then sautee onions in it before adding the rest of the ingredients. Olive oil and a dash of lemon juice adds a nice finishing touch too. More people should try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I loved it! I followed the recipe as is. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
We had this with fresh bread and butter, all five of us loved it, I changed it a little because I tripled it and added left over turkey and canned tomatoes and 3 stalks of celery, also used chicken broth for the first water. I have given 5 stars as all five of us has agreed that it should be a weekly meal. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was super easy and delicious! My grandkids has never had lentils and they loved them! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was fun and easy to make and it tastes great. I left about a 1/3 cup of the lentils whole. After blending, I added some frozen chopped spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Looking for something easy to make. This was delicious though I had to make a couple of changes. Only had green lentils (so the finished meal looks a bit like baby poop but, like I said, it's delicious!), ran out of cumin so could only put about 1 teaspoon in but I added some curry powder and it actually works. I'll be sure to get some more cumin though and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Excellent!!!! Easy to make and fantastic taste. I started "tasting"during cooking and after a while I realized I had almost eaten half a plate .....thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelissaH
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Although it's not pretty to look at it has wonderful flavor. As others have done, I used chicken broth instead of water with great results. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. If I had had some, fresh cilantro would be a great garnish in addition to some crumbled chips. This recipe was similar to lentil soup I had recently at a Mediterranean restaurant. It's a very filling, satisfying soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States