Egyptian Koshary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Pretty good, but definitely needs chickpeas and french fried onions on top to be like the Kosheri I had in Cairo! In the future, I will also use more lentils, crushed tomatoes instead of tomato paste, and cooking time is overestimated: only took me an hour from start to finish, including prep which can be done while rice/pasta is cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I love trying international foods and this one is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Just like in Egypt! Delicious but will require several of the pots and pans in the kitchen with the rice, pasta, onion frying, & sauce all needing their own dish. So worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was SO nice! I really enjoyed this. I added chickpeas as there seemed to be chickpeas in the picture and both me and BF really loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Beautiful Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
We really didn't enjoy the texture (pasta, lentils and rice with tomato sauce) of this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
My husband would really prefer to never eat lentils. However, there is an Italian tradition (I'm Italian, he's not) of eating lentil soup on New Year's Day to ensure prosperity in the coming year so he has to put up with them one day a year. This year I thought I'd try something a little different and found this recipe. Hubby loves tomato so I thought this might work. I cooked the lentils and the rice in a chicken veggie broth for extra flavor, the pasta I used was some leftover pastina (really small pasta used for soups) and the tomato I used was leftover homemade pizza sauce. It was fantastic! My husband loved it and I could probably get him to eat it a couple of times a year because I love lentils and would like to be able to have them more often. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Eaten almost everywhere in the Middle East, this poor's man feast requires a lot of preparation and utensils to cook. But it is a delicious filling-up meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Thanks for the recipe, it tastes exactly as we can buy it here in Egypt from the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Sorry, we did not care for this one. The texture of the pasta with the rice kinda threw us off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Chef John's Farro with Wild Mushrooms

Delicious dish with farro, wild mushrooms and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States