Egyptian Koshari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
You absolutely cannot leave out the fried onions. Everywhere in Egypt serves this with crispy caramelized onions on top and most places have hot sauce and a garlic sauce that you can add, which makes it better (not as bland). In fact, whenever I order this in Cairo I always ask for extra onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miaka
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
The texture was different, in a good way. But it was kinda tasteless, and very spicey. I followed some of the reviews, and added lemonslices to serve, added cumin and blended the tomatosauce. But this dish wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Try this for a healthier twist: I got confused and used black beans instead of lentils:-) instead of rice, use Quinoa Use whole wheat elbow macaroni Now the trick with delicious Koshary is the sauce that you drizzle on top: - first, brown the onion in olive oil very very well, when very brown, add the tomato paste/sauce. then add LOTS of crushed red pepper, a dash of cumin, and salt/pepper. after it's cooked and your afraid the onion is going to burn, turn it off and cover the pot. Then in a separate very small saucepan, brown crushed garlic in olive oil. while it is cooking, add some ground coriander. when the garlic is very golden, turn of the flame and quickly splash with a little red wine vinegar and then take the whole thing and splash into the tomato sauce and cover it quickly. After a few seconds, open briefly, stir with a spoon and cover again. Once you've layered the Koshary in the serving plate, drizzle the sauce over and serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
The authentic Egyptian Koshari is a great street food, and you can find vendors all over Egypt selling it. Typically, the sauce is served to the side. Egyptians us ditalini pasta and also add chickpeas. I soak the chickpeas overnight, and then add them to the lentils to get extra cooking - they will be slightly crunchy. This does require every sauce pan I own to make, plus my skillet, but the results are yummy! Jordanian Koshari does not have the pasta. You can also make this with less rice and more lentils if you are concerned about carbs. I've seen this made on the streets of Cairo, and they use quite a bit of dried pepper and cumin. It should have a spicy afterbite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I haven't tried this particular recipe although I make Koshari fairly often. I serve the tomato sauce (dakuse) on the side and don't mix it with the onion. I fry the onion to a crispy, golden brown. I mix the rice, pasta and lentils and serve the dakuse and onion on the side. The onion is my favorite part. I make the dekuse by boiling a can of rotel (choose your level of spiciness), I add a couple of cloves of garlic and then puree it. This sounds like a strange dish but it is delicious! Great for vegetarians! Glad someone posted it. BTW: I also cook rice, lentils and pasta separately then mix together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I was really excited when I first found this recipe because I love the Egyptian culture and was ecstatic that I would be able to sample some of the authentic cuisine from Egypt. So I was extremely disappointed when this recipe flopped completely at my house. It was just way too starchy and way too bland. In fact, I've never eaten something this bland before. No amount of extra tomatoes, garlic,onions or salt seemed to make it any more flavorful, it just made it overly salty. I feel bad about the poor review, but I will not be making this again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
So wonderful! I used tomato paste & veggie stock to thin it out instead of diced tomatoes. I also added cumin as suggested by another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was certainly something different, in a good way, it could certainly feed a big family on a tight budget... I am not sure if I will make it again, but it is certainly worth trying at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Made this after a friend from Egypt told me about it. This recipe sounded closes to the one she was trying to explain to me. It's actually more filling than it looks/sounds. Our family loves this cheap and tasty side dish with falafel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoffeeAddict
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I never thought this combination of ingredients would be so tasty, but it is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States