Egyptian Koshari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Leave it up to a 20 year old 'shab' to give a recipe for Koushari and run the risk that the 'rest of the world' will never fully appreciate the greatness of this dish! First, it should be mentioned that the elbow macaroni is not the typical elbow macaroni that most americans use...it is a much smaller version. Secondly, the onions should be coursely chopped and fried over med high heat in about 1/4 cup of olive oil for about 15 minutes; turning often. You could season with a little cumin and red pepper, if you like. When the onions are nice and brown, add about 3 Tablespoons of tomato paste them and dilute with about a cup of water and simmer for 5-10 minutes. Finally, on a large tray, thoroughly mix all of the ingredients together. (I think some Egyptians actually serve it in layers...but I find that is too much trouble for my large family). Put the koushari on a serving tray and serve it with a nice arabic style salad, some olives and of course, Jarjeer on the side (argula...in English. The salad is very important! Of course, don't forget salt and pepper as you cook. Thanks greeness024 for letting the rest of the world in on a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
My husband is Egyptian so I decided to attempt this easy dish. It takes a lot of TIME to cook, but it's really easy. He said typically the sauce is pureed, so I blended 1 can tomato sauce, 1/2 chopped cup parsley, 1/2 cup chopped cilantro, 1 tsp of cumin, 3 cloves of garlic & 1 tbsp olive oil, then simmered it for 10 mins. I'm telling you, the flavors seem simple but the dish is AMAZING! The texture with the noodles, rice and lentils is so good. Just be sure to really brown the onions and put on top. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atherton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I followed another reviewer's advise and added 1/2 cilantro and 1 tsp cumin and blended the sauce in a food processor. Yum! If I hadn't added the extra seasoning, this recipe would only be 3 stars. My friend who had lived in Egypt said it was very similar to what she'd eaten there. Also, put lime or lemon juice on top. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved it! Reminds me of Cairo. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
great recipe. Instead of mixing everything up, I layered (more traditional that way). Really browned the onions and added cumin to the rice/lentil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
good the way the recipe is written, but fantastic with fire roasted tomatoes, and cilantro and cumin on the side. also, be very careful to FULLY brown the onions and garlic, as that is really what makes this pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
i have learnt this almost 10 years ago from an egyptian friend.she just discribed me this recipe so that i can eat and get more kilos :) its heavy in deed and delicious.should really serve with lemon coz it needs to have a little bit soury taste.great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
it is a good receipe , yoy can make rice,lentil,macaroni seperate, at the end mix some lentile with rice, and layered rice at the bottom,macaroni,lentile inthe top then fry 1 onion put in the top and put the tomato (hot) on the top, YOU MAKE THE SAUCE BY FRY CHOPPED ONION IN OIL THEN ADD TOMATO SAUCE OR PUREE TO IT THEN SIMMER TO MAKE THICK SAUCE , ADD HOT PEPPER FLAKES BEFORE BOILING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great meal! We served lemons on the side and it added a lot. It's hard to believe such simple ingredients can have such a great complex flavor. We're picking a country a week to sample a meal from and this was our Egyptian meal. I'm a veg so it worked great. All four boys ate it and the 5 yr had three servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was delicious after the alterations I made. Can't give any real quantities because I just eyeballed it, but I added lots of cumin, salt, pepper and cilantro to the onions and garlic while they were sauteeing. I also added a small can of tomato paste. Blended that all up to make the sauce smooth and I couldn't stop myself from second and third helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States