Egyptian Koshari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
it is a good receipe , yoy can make rice,lentil,macaroni seperate, at the end mix some lentile with rice, and layered rice at the bottom,macaroni,lentile inthe top then fry 1 onion put in the top and put the tomato (hot) on the top, YOU MAKE THE SAUCE BY FRY CHOPPED ONION IN OIL THEN ADD TOMATO SAUCE OR PUREE TO IT THEN SIMMER TO MAKE THICK SAUCE , ADD HOT PEPPER FLAKES BEFORE BOILING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I followed another reviewer's advise and added 1/2 cilantro and 1 tsp cumin and blended the sauce in a food processor. Yum! If I hadn't added the extra seasoning, this recipe would only be 3 stars. My friend who had lived in Egypt said it was very similar to what she'd eaten there. Also, put lime or lemon juice on top. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Wasn't a big hit. I would have to have authentic Koshari tell the difference. Husband ate it, kids did not and leftovers are still in fridge. Maybe pureeing the sauce will help or maybe more sauce and less noodles? Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
My husband is Egyptian so I decided to attempt this easy dish. It takes a lot of TIME to cook, but it's really easy. He said typically the sauce is pureed, so I blended 1 can tomato sauce, 1/2 chopped cup parsley, 1/2 cup chopped cilantro, 1 tsp of cumin, 3 cloves of garlic & 1 tbsp olive oil, then simmered it for 10 mins. I'm telling you, the flavors seem simple but the dish is AMAZING! The texture with the noodles, rice and lentils is so good. Just be sure to really brown the onions and put on top. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atherton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
We really liked it! I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I tried this recipe, but followed other reviewers suggestions than the printed recipe. Although I've tried a variety of Middle Eastern and other recipes, this one looked very strange and I was reluctant, however, it was wonderful. The olives made it spectacular, and I ate it almost bite for bite with salad and olives. Great dish. It makes me want to travel to Egypt! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Leave it up to a 20 year old 'shab' to give a recipe for Koushari and run the risk that the 'rest of the world' will never fully appreciate the greatness of this dish! First, it should be mentioned that the elbow macaroni is not the typical elbow macaroni that most americans use...it is a much smaller version. Secondly, the onions should be coursely chopped and fried over med high heat in about 1/4 cup of olive oil for about 15 minutes; turning often. You could season with a little cumin and red pepper, if you like. When the onions are nice and brown, add about 3 Tablespoons of tomato paste them and dilute with about a cup of water and simmer for 5-10 minutes. Finally, on a large tray, thoroughly mix all of the ingredients together. (I think some Egyptians actually serve it in layers...but I find that is too much trouble for my large family). Put the koushari on a serving tray and serve it with a nice arabic style salad, some olives and of course, Jarjeer on the side (argula...in English. The salad is very important! Of course, don't forget salt and pepper as you cook. Thanks greeness024 for letting the rest of the world in on a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was a good base recipe. It was very bland to me, but Spouse added Kalmata olives and said that improved it dramatically. We'll keep it in the rotation playing with it to give it some supporting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States