Eggy Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I thought this recipe was pretty good. The only problem I had is that after I finished cooking the veggies there was a lot of juice in the pan. I didn't bother draining it because the instructions didn't say to. The result was soggy eggs. I thought it was still pretty good, although could be 5 stars next time by draining the veggies before adding them to the 8x8 pan. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRSMATLIKRD
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I wanted a breakfast casserole without all the bacon and sausage and this was fabulous! I used yellow squash and added some thin-sliced carrot strips to add more color. I added about 1 tsp of minced garlic when sauteing the veggies, and for those that aren't big on "to taste" directions, I used 2 tablespoons for the lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, and 1/4 tsp garlic salt. Had to drain a little extra liquid off the top when it was done cooking, but it cut and served beautifully! It was a big hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMATLIKRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Tasty, easy, and healthful. I used the recommended veggies, whole eggs (beaten) instead of egg substitute, and sharp shredded cheddar. Egg substitute would have been healthier, but I didn't have any. We liked the lemon juice/worstershire flavor, but also could imagine seasoning the veggie saute with herbs de provence or just play with different seasonings. It's a wonderful template for a quick, filling supper or breakfast. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This is a delicious, versatile recipe. First time, I followed recipe exactly. Since then, I've altered it to use all my left overs - cabbage, broccoli, carrots and bell peppers. You just can't go wrong with this. What I love about this is, it doesn't rely on heavy meats and cheeses for flavor. Combo of lemon juice and Worchestire sauce is very savory. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
We really liked this--kind of like a quiche without the crust. The Worcestershire sauce adds great flavor. My only change was to add a little mayo to the eggs to make them creamy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I have been doing something like this for years. However, I do not cook the vegetables first. They are going to be in the oven cooking; I don't like soft veggies. I spray individual glass bowls and add my veggies then pour eggs and grated cheese over top. These can also be cooked in the microwave very slowly. Any vegetables you like and experiment with different cheeses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I've been making a similar dish for years. Versatile enough for any meal of the day. The lemon and worchestershire sauce is a different combination. Go easy on the Worchestershire. It's an overpowering flavor that can quickly take over a dish, and in this dish you do want some of the flavor of the lemon to come out otherwise why use the lemon? A great brunch dish, nice enough to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe! I made the recipe as is with no substitutions. I did drain the sauteed veggies before adding to the baking dish to prevent a watery texture. It was delicious and we make it at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I should have read all of the reviews before making this. The lemon was way too much. I threw the whole thing in the trash. The base is good and I would make it again without or with little lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Very yummy. I used mushrooms, zucchini, yellow squash, & onions. We loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States