Eggs with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Found the problem other folks are having w/ this recipe. 10min may be too long to cook your tomatoes, slice them a bit thicker than you think you should because they will cook down. If you want them to stay in one piece, they have to be pretty thick slices. Don't cook them until they're mush. Its pretty easy to overcook the tomatoes. The other problem I saw, people felt like there wasn't enough eggs. Last problem was probably just me- the spice looked to be "too much". So I halved it and I'm glad I did. So, if you're gonna try this recipe again... I was satisfied with this : Two slicing tomatoes sliced thick, half can of tomato paste, 4 eggs, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp allspice, salt to taste. Serves two. I'd give the recipe 5-stars if it worked out as posted. 4-stars because it requires a hella ton of fixing to make it the best !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I think the potential is here but WHOOOO, too much sauce and spice!! Next time I will halve everything except the eggs and I would cut the tomatoes extra thick or just chop them up. The flavor was good but too intense. I will be putting the rest of this on rice tonight for dinner. Hopefully the rice will mellow the intense flavors a little.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Simple and delicious. Easy to make with ingredients on hand- I added 1/2 a can of corn and my little girls loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
i am married to an arabian and how they do it is chopped tomatoes and onions.. fry in oil til soft add salt , pepper and some cumin.. add the beaten eggs and scramble.. thats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by layla13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Hi. This is basically a Shashouka Recipe. You don't have to use sunflower oil. I typically use Olive Oil. I poach my eggs in the tomato sauce (instead of scrambled) which looks nicer and I like my yolk a little soft. You can also add a little diced hot peppers (your favourite) which I prefer. Serve with fresh warm bread and a side salad ... yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was interesting. I did notice it was a lot like Shashouka, except that you would poach the eggs in the sauce with Shashouka. But it was still a great way to use up tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This recipe is similar to one of my comfort foods, which uses soy sauce and sugar instead of cumin and allspice. I served with pita bread and it was very good. Next time I will try serving with rice. I will also try using at least 6 eggs instead of 4, because the ratio seemed off. I was nervous about the tomato paste at first because it wasn't mixing in, but as the tomatoes cooked down more, they released more juice, which mixed with the tomato paste to create a sauce. I might dilute it a bit next time with some broth. My final product did not turn out like the picture - the tomatoes were completely cooked down and unrecognizable, but I liked it this way. Will definitely make this again because money is tight this month...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I added 1/3 Cup chopped green onions and omitted tomato paste. It came out tasty. I used 2 tomatoes and 2 eggs for a single serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was a bit of a disappointment. A few previous reviewers had the same problems I did. I made it exactly as written, using sea salt and sunflower oil (which was a new ingredient to me). My cooking times were 10 minutes each time - I didn't gauge them as was hinted at, but I probably should have, in retrospect. The results looked nothing like the picture - they were a gloppy mess. (This lasted me for three breakfasts, and the leftovers were a bit more solid.) Definitely no extra points for visual/textural appeal. On the other hand, the taste was somewhat good - I like cumin a lot. I agree with a previous reviewer that the proportions were off - I would add more eggs, or cut down on the tomato ingedients, if I made this again. I'd probably give this a 2-star rating, but I guess I'll add an extra star for taste/ease/healthiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I thought it was a tasty and filling recipe, as well as a good use of garden tomatoes. However, my boyfriend did not like it much so it is not for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States