Eggs Benedict Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I just made this recipe... It was pretty good.. I crushed a clove of garlic into juice from one lemon... and let it sit for a while.... I tried not to get most of the garlic in. Juice from one lemon is a little too lemony. I donno if this makes a difference but I was tought in chef school, that you should always whisk side to side, up and down... not in a circular motion. I also put the finished product under the broiler to toast the tops of of nice... YUmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler Lupton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Thought I would suprise my wife by making a special sunday breakfast....I was not dissapointed by this recipe and neither was she! This was my first time making a hollandaise sauce and it came out great. I highly recommend this recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
love the hollandaise sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Delicious! I didn't change a thing and it turned out great. My first time pouching eggs-super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Excellent! And I tried all the various versions suggested by other reviewers. The blender method makes it easier and faster, but the double boiler method tastes less eggy and the heat blends all the flavors together very well. Another advantage to making the sauce on the double boiler is that you can keep it hot till you are ready to serve. The key to using the double boiler is to make sure the water is only simmering (not boiling) and NOT touching the bottom of the sauce pan. (I used key limes instead of lemons, and added a couple of extra drops of Worcestershire sauce (to taste).) Combine the eggs, lime/lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce in a separate bowl before pouring into the double boiler. Then KEEP WHISKING, DON'T STOP, even after the last drop of butter has been added, keep whisking till everything is smooth. Making this receipe is like conducting an orchestra. Prepping is key. I started with the bacon then popped it into a warm oven. I also put heat-safe breakfast plates in the oven to warm them up. I made the sauce, then when that was done, I took it off the double boiler and set it aside. Then I popped the English muffins in a toaster oven (on light toast), then used the water in the boiler to poach the eggs. Stir up the sauce while the bread and eggs are cooking. The bread and eggs should be done simultanously. I garnished with a sprinkle of Hot Hungarian Paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
We loved this recipe! It was very time consuming (at least for a breakfast). I took other reviewer's suggestions and made the sauce last and not first. It was hard to time everything correctly to make sure that it all finished at around the same time, but if you plan ahead it is possible. I did as others suggested and pulled out all ingredients and measurements before I began. I did cut back on the lemon juice (to 2T) and it was just right. It was still very lemony, but we love lemon. Oh, and I added cayenne pepper to the sauce to give it a little kick. Overall, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
The first time I made this recipe, well it was a disaster. The double boiler method to make the sauce was a huge failure despite my best effort to follow the directions exactly. I ended up with a lumpy, very unappealing hollandaise sauce. The 2nd time I attempted this recipe; I used the suggestion of other "raters" and mixed the hollandaise sauce in my blender. Much, much easier and the results were perfect - a nicely incorporated sauce, not a clumpy mess. I still haven't determined however what our preference is regarding the lemon juice. 3 1/2 T. of lemon juice seemed like too much however during the 2nd try, we reduced the lemon juice to 2 T. and that actually didn't seem to be enough. I guess we'll just have to keep experimenting with the lemon juice. Over all however, a really easy recipe. The only down side is that this is a recipe that should be piping hot for the best results. A real challenge when you are preparing this for 4 or 5 people (the eggs will get ahead of you, the muffins will start to brown too quickly, or the bacon or sauce will start to get too cool). I'll definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was my first time to make and eat this dish. Hubby said it was better than any restaurant version he's had in the past. I served grits on the side though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Millbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was my first attempt at making eggs benedict and they turned out very well. I also put less lemon than the recipe called for. I made the sauce in a double boiler with no problem at all. I brought the water to a boil without the top part on, and mixed the ingredients in the top before putting it on the bottom part. The heat of the butter alone was enough to get the process started, then once I placed the top on the bottom, everything cooked very evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Both my husband and myself thought the hollandaise sauce was a little more tart than what we were used to, but we enjoyed it none-the-less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States