Eggs Benedict Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Really REALLY good. I followed the instructions to the letter - except that instead of Canadian Bacon I got ham-off-the-bone sliced wafer thin. I actually like the texture of the thin sliced ham better for Eggs Benedict. OH and I didn't do the double-boiler thing. I just put the pan on very low heat and to keep the heat extra low, I would occasionally take the pan off the heat altogether. It worked and the sauce came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Really tasty, I love poached eggs & have never attempted to make benedict before. I followed the advice of previous reviewers & cut way back on the lemon juice (used 1/2 tsp for a single serving). Here's the trick, measure out all the ingredients for the sauce & set them aside, start the water for the double boiler to warm it up. Cook the muffin, canadian bacon & poached eggs first. Have them ready to serve, then start the sauce at the very end - it only takes a minute or two if you have everything ready. Serve immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I added a bit more lemon juice, per other reviews, and the taste of the sauce was just right - until it fell apart on me. Tried as I might, I couldn't get it to bind back together. I'm deducting a star because the recipe isn't well-worded. Part of the failure was due to my not reading the recipe properly - part was due to steps 1 & 2 of the sauce being worded incorrectly. I'll be making another attempt at this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was really good. This was my first time making Hollandaise sauce and it was very easy. I reduced the lemon juice to 2.5 TBSP, omitted the white pepper and increased the Worcestershire sauce to approx. 1/4 tsp. For the Benedict I used regular bacon (no Canadian on hand) and added a layer of tomato and avocado just to dress it up a little. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreechrismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is a little too lemony for me. I reduced the lemon to 3 tablespoons and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
the sauce could have been better, but i still enjoyed it. I was so excited to successfully poach eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
As a first time holly sauce maker I thought it was fairly simple and straightforward. I found if you adjusted the amount of the butter and lemon juice you could adjust the richness of it. I really liked it! Thank you for the recipe, it's a keeper for sure:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Agreed with others that cutting back the lemon juice quite drastically is necessary for the sauce to turn out well. I also had trouble with the sauce separating when I left it to sit while I poached the eggs and toasted the English muffins. The sauce can be rescued by whisking another egg yolk into it but you have to serve immediately or it will separate again! I've since read online that putting your saucepan or double boiler bowl into cold water or putting an ice cube into the sauce can also rescue the emulsification so I might try that next time. The key to getting this recipe right is to have everything prepped and ready ahead of time so that you can pull it all together at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Great with one exception. I used freshly squeezed lemon juice and it was a little too lemony... but was delicious other than that! With bottled lemon juice, this might be right. BUT if you use fresh, cut back a bit..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
YUM! My boyfriend claimed it is so hard to make this dish. He challenged my mom and I by saying we couldn't reproduce his fav brunch item. Well, he was shocked at how well we did. He actually licked the sauce off his plate. Ha, we showed him! This was great and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Meadows, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States