Eggs Benedict Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I think this would have been perfect with much less lemon juice. It was creamy and light, it looked great, it was the perfect consistency - but all I could taste was lemon. I cut it down to 3 tbsp, but is was still too much. Next time I'll only use 1 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
What a disappointment...It looked so good. This was very easy to make and when it was done it looked delicious...until I tasted it! Way too much lemon and salt...try as I could, it was inedible. I ended up throwing the whole down the sink! I'll try it again sometime, but with way less salt and lemon. I wish had read the reviews first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Way too lemony for our family's taste! Adjust the lemon to your personal taste and you'll end up with a great Eggs Benedict.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
"This is exquisite I can't remember when I've had such delic-gulp mmmmm!" says my mom. I'm fifteen and I couldn't sleep last night at all so I went down stairs around 6:00 and made a batch of cookies. I still wasn't tired so I decided to make a really hard recipe that would make me tired enough to fall asleep afterwards. I remembered eating amazing eggs benedict in NYC last summer and Iv'e heard both poaching eggs and making hollandaise sauce was difficult so I thought to myself, Why not? Anyways I made it later this morning for my mom and I. Overall it wasn't that hard I just had trouble figuring out the double boiler but afterwards it went pretty smoothly, so don't be intimidated. I am a vegetarian so I skipped The bacon and made an extra poached egg, and my mom put spinach under hers because she can't eat wheat. We both loved it! it was sooo delicious. Anyways I know it might intimadate some people, but It's not that hard, just make sure you know the recipe really well and keep the heat as low as possible because the eggs will get thick and if the heat is on too hot, and then they may start to separate. Mine did but by then my mom had gotten up so she said to take them off the heat and stir a lot. Because of this we left a little of the butter out but it didn't matter. Make this and you will not regret it, don't settle for the blender or mix type of hollandaise sauce: you are amazing and you deserve the best of the best. right? XOXOX Jade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
i got rave reviews from my bf! we both love a quality eggs benedict which we all know isnt easy to find. This is a KEEPER :) i definately suggest to others to forget the blender idea for the sauce....the ingredients need the heat to come together properly for the flavor. I only used 2 tbsp lemon juice & it came out perfect. just the right amount of tang. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great recipe. I too, after reading the comments, changed the lemon juice to 3 1/2 Teaspoons. Then I followed the recipe and it was awesome. Do youself a favor. I bought an egg poacher at Wal Mart. Cooks 2 poached eggs to perfection in 1 minute, 30 seconds in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I always thought hollidaise sauce was hard to make, until I found this recipe. I usually just make the sauce and my family LOVES it. And it really is simple. And the sauce is great over fish and asparagus. Thanks so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Watanabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent. A little high on the lemon and salt, but great overall. Used a regular sauce pan for the hollandaise with medium low heat and just toasted the muffins and used ham. Worked great and was a little more practical. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Yummy but oh so rich! This was the 1st time I attempted to do poached eggs or hollandaise. I started early, had everything ready and took my time. Everything came out perfect! I'm no longer scared. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferqueron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
My only complaint on this was that there was way too much lemon juice. Take that with a grain of salt, however, because we did half the recipe. The aftertaste of the dish tasted like Eggs Benedict should, so I think when we try it again, we'll tone down the lemon juice a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States