Eggplants With Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Delicious! I made exactly as written, served it as the main dish on top of arugula as she suggested, (no dressing needed) put a sprinkle of goat cheese just for fun. Will definitely make again! One large eggplant split between two of us was the perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Trying to cut out carbs this is a great alternative to pasta! My boyfriend loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel :D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I grow basil and various varieties of eggplant each summer on my patio in pots. This recipe has become my new favorite for both, although I use my own recipe for the pesto and I adjust the amount of eggplant I cook. Two black beauties can easily serve 4-6 as a side dish. I prefer smaller varieties. I freeze enough pesto during the summer to last all year. If you use a nonstick pan, you can cut back on the oil considerably. Remember that olive oil is good for you. I make sure the eggplant is cooked through before I put it in the oven. I lathe on the pesto. Rather than broil it, I bake it at 400. Wasn't sure pesto could handle broiling. This recipe is a welcome change to the usual tomato sauce and cheese recipes. I wish I could thank the submitter personally for this recipe. I've probably made it 4 times in the last two weeks. This recipe wins over people who aren't that fond of eggplant. Thank you so much!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I didn't like the fact that it had all that oil, which eggplant absorbs like a sponge. I didn't think it was worth the effort it took to make. I tossed it in the trash after eating only 1/4 of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I made this one also 2 summer's ago and it was the only eggplant dish my husband liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tridoc927

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I love basil/pesto. I love eggplant. 'Just didn't seem to go together for me in this dish. 'Wish it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Simple and delicious , my friends loved it. good eggplant recipes are hard to come by so I decided to become a member to show my appreciation for this recipe. only changes made as other reviewers suggested - salt eggplant for 30mins wash and pat dry, heat in 400f for 20mins, used store bought pesto and crushed some pine-nuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Fantastic! Having little experience with preparing eggplant, I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty it was. I paired the eggplant with egg noodles (covered in the extra pesto)and also some cherry tomatoes that were sauteed in the same oil with the eggplant. I'll definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and the eggplant did not get tender enough with the time given. I will definitely make this again and make sure I fry it until it's really soft. I served it with polenta - really went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Really tasty. I used Japanese eggplant because that is what is in my garden. I sliced them in half lengthwise and baked them skin side up on a cookie sheet sprayed with Pam until they were soft at 350. I then spread with pesto and broiled briefly. I think the Japanese eggplant have a milder flavor and thinner skin. We had one eggplant per person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States