Eggplant, Zucchini and Sweet Red Pepper Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Fantastic! I added a half pkg of baby spinach at the end and one pound of cooked ground turkey (for the non vegetarians. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Substituted yellow squash fo the zucchini I don't like, the red wine I had on hand for the Marsala, dried basil and rosemary I couldn't get fresh that day and plain rice for Basmati rice and still got a wonderful dinner. We even enjoyed the leftovers the next day. This is an excellent, healthy vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe, as did my husband and 10 yr old daughter. We are vegetarians and are always looking for someting new. I love one pot meals. I even made it two nights later for the second time, I liked it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This recipe was easy and delicious. The herbs and red wine added subtle flavours. For a higher protein dish, I added tofu and chicken, and the flavours complemented the vegetables very well. I will keep making this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Yum!!!!!! Followed recipe for the most part and incorporated a few suggestions from other reviewers - 1) used 14.5 oz. can of Italian diced tomatoes instead of fresh ones (be sure to reduce the water by at least 1/2 cup if you use the liquid from the can as well) 2) added 1 tbsp of lemon juice 3) added cooked bay shrimp for some protein 4) sauteed onions/garlic first and then added eggplant Everything cooked down to a perfectly moist (yet not too watery) level! I used an electric burner so used the low setting (instead of simmer) for the last 30 minutes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I added a little black pepper and only 1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes, & omitted the basil & rosemary, due to family preference. I also substituted brown rice for the Basmati. I'm giving this 5 stars as my husband loved it. If you added some beans (like cannelini or navy), this would be even more filling & nutritious as a vegetarian entree, instead of just a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I love this soup, it's easy and delicious. I've made it three times so far and it's officially in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This dish had nice flavor and was very easy to make. As per other reviewers I sauteed my onions and garlic first, then added the eggplant. After adding the other ingredients I discovered I only had organic rice in the house, which extended the cooking time a bit but otherwise worked just fine. I think I skipped the Marsala (feeding to kids) but we certainly didn't miss it. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I love this recipe. I have made it twice. I took the advice of another reviewer and flipped the cooking order of the eggplant and onions. When I cooked the eggplant first it soaked up all the oil and there wasn't any left to cook the onions. It worked much better the opposite way. I also used a can of Italian diced tomatoes (only because I didn't have any fresh) and that worked out great. I added extra water but I also used very large vegetables so that could be why I needed more water. All in all a very good way to use up vegetables from the garden. It freezes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I Didn't have onion wine or pepper flakes. Might have been even better with. I also didn't put the rice into the simmering veggies, I just served it all over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States