Eggplant, Zucchini and Sweet Red Pepper Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I love this recipe. I have made it twice. I took the advice of another reviewer and flipped the cooking order of the eggplant and onions. When I cooked the eggplant first it soaked up all the oil and there wasn't any left to cook the onions. It worked much better the opposite way. I also used a can of Italian diced tomatoes (only because I didn't have any fresh) and that worked out great. I added extra water but I also used very large vegetables so that could be why I needed more water. All in all a very good way to use up vegetables from the garden. It freezes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This dish had nice flavor and was very easy to make. As per other reviewers I sauteed my onions and garlic first, then added the eggplant. After adding the other ingredients I discovered I only had organic rice in the house, which extended the cooking time a bit but otherwise worked just fine. I think I skipped the Marsala (feeding to kids) but we certainly didn't miss it. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe - the next day! It does requires a lot of chopping...but worth it. I used 1/2 basmati rice and 1/2 white rice.. I preferred the meal the following day... the flavors really gelled then... Next time I will make it in the a.m for a p.m. meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Substituted yellow squash fo the zucchini I don't like, the red wine I had on hand for the Marsala, dried basil and rosemary I couldn't get fresh that day and plain rice for Basmati rice and still got a wonderful dinner. We even enjoyed the leftovers the next day. This is an excellent, healthy vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I added a little black pepper and only 1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes, & omitted the basil & rosemary, due to family preference. I also substituted brown rice for the Basmati. I'm giving this 5 stars as my husband loved it. If you added some beans (like cannelini or navy), this would be even more filling & nutritious as a vegetarian entree, instead of just a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
It's like a veggie gumbo - really thick. It came out very sweet (didn't have marsala so I used mirin) so I added some hot sauce. That made a great combo of hot and sweet (if you like that sort of thing). If I made it again I'd mess around with adding hot peppers or at least a lot more red pepper flakes. Also I'd recommend sauteeing the eggplant after the onion and garlic - my eggplant got really mushy from being in there so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Didn't vary this recipe much other than I left the zucchini to sweat for about 20 minutes before rinsing. Also used white rice which was fine. Used a 14 oz can of diced italian tomatoes instead of fresh. Added a Tbs. of lemon juice. It was surprisingly thick, so added a little more water. Topped off each serving with Mozza cheese and it was an extremely filling dish! Will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoenix Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Wow! This is tasty stew. I came home from the food co-op today with eggplant and only 2 small zucchini, among other things. I had no idea what to do with the eggplant, as I had never cooked it before. This recipe suited the ingredients I had on hand to a T, so I tried it even though my family isn't much for a great variety of vegetables. I'd be willing to eat this for a week if they won't. Lots of chopping, but well worth it! I didn't have marsala, so used vegetable broth for the water and wine. Had to chop most of the veggies small to increase the likelihood of my brood eating it, but left the zucchini and eggplant in chunks and added some ready-made meatballs (they love those). Also, had no basmati, so used ready-cooked brown rice instead. Wonderful flavor comes from the fresh herbs, garlic and tomatoes. Also added some bay leaves. Red pepper really gives it a kick! YUM! I'm going to serve it over crunchy garlic bread with fresh parmesan cheese on top. Can't wait. Hope they like it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Yum!!!!!! Followed recipe for the most part and incorporated a few suggestions from other reviewers - 1) used 14.5 oz. can of Italian diced tomatoes instead of fresh ones (be sure to reduce the water by at least 1/2 cup if you use the liquid from the can as well) 2) added 1 tbsp of lemon juice 3) added cooked bay shrimp for some protein 4) sauteed onions/garlic first and then added eggplant Everything cooked down to a perfectly moist (yet not too watery) level! I used an electric burner so used the low setting (instead of simmer) for the last 30 minutes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
this reminds me of ratatouille - it's pretty good - i think it needs to be topped with mozzarella cheese and serve up with some bread b/c otherwise it's just a bit borning - be sure to eat it all up b/c leftovers are not too tasty the next day as i have discovered
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States